Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  

Old 04-11-2010, 04:42 AM   #1
Yatsuzuka
portfolio
Emmanuel Yatsuzuka
USA

Base Mesh Anatomy help

Hey everyone, I was hoping I could get some feedback on this base mesh I made. I've looked at numerous references and have tried to come up with a "generic" base mesh for my 3d models. I'm going for a above average build, not too muscular but not fat either.

Feel free to critique as much as possible. This guy has gone through many iterations and every time I always find something wrong, but thats progress I guess.

Thanks in advanced

http://img28.imageshack.us/img28/2786/basemeshf.jpg for a larger view.

Old 04-15-2010, 06:36 PM   #2
aLoneCuzzo
cuZZO maSteR LEveL

portfolio
Jabari Bell
Programmer
AHA Designs
Brazil

Send a message via AIM to aLoneCuzzo
It looks good to me.

But I'm a beginner. What sort of reference materials did/do you use when you're modeling the human body? Do you have any tips or pointers to offer?

Good job though.

'A drawing is not well done unless it captures a state of mind.'
:Davinci:

Old 04-16-2010, 09:16 AM   #3
Yatsuzuka
portfolio
Emmanuel Yatsuzuka
USA

Thanks for the reply, um I basically look at everything, I look through alot of images on google, just looking up simple terms like "human anatomy", "muscular arm", "leg anatomy", etc...

Also I have a couple of anatomy books. Artistic Anatomy, is a really good book that goes indepth with each bone and muscle. I also have a figure drawing book that details how to capture the basic overall shape rather than focusing on a specific muscle. I think having both of these books are great to give you an overall idea for anatomy. I'm always referring back to them trying to improve my own knowledge.

Finally, I think using other people's work as reference is great to help you understand anatomy better. Obviously not copy, but using it for practice and sketches really helped me with my own technique.