Is it critical to know how to paint?

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

Old 02 February 2010   #1
Is it critical to know how to paint?

I'm kinda new to 3D, and i noticed that almost everyone that's "dealing with it", knows how to paint.

i know it's a huge plus to know how to paint, but is it a must? (i'm talking about places like the industry itself).

and for any case - how can i start studying how to paint from scratch?

*sorry if i've posted it at the wrong forum, feel free to move the thread.. ^_^

Old 02 February 2010   #2
I wouldn't say it's a must, but having some training in the principles of art sure helps, regardless of medium. Being able to draw is also nice when conceiving scenes, although many artists work entirely in 3D and without a sketch.

I will let the more experienced fellows give you their ideas, but those are my thoughts.

Cheers and God bless.

Sketchbook

Old 03 March 2010   #3
Drawing/painting skills are essential if you want to design, model or texture anything because its from drawing and painting that you work out how to make something beautiful/appealing to look at.

The only people who don't really draw or paint are the people who are exclusively technical (code stuff in C++, Python etc)

If you aim to work in the technical side of 3D then at least have a go at painting (after all, its fun), but if you are interested in any aspect of 3D that is artistic then drawing and painting as often as possible is a must!

Examples of jobs where knowing how to paint is a must:
-Character Designer
-Modeller
-Texture Artist
-Matte Painter
-Compositor

How to learn to paint from scratch?