Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  

Old 03-27-2009, 10:09 AM   #1
maximebl
portfolio
Max bl
Montreal, CA

Beginner looking for directions!

Hey this is my first post on these forums, I have been reading them for quite some time now and I decided I wanted to learn digital painting, simply because it looks incredibly fun even if its just learning (and I know I have a lot to learn!).

I took a while to decide what exactly my goals are as far as learning all of this, but I am not sure where I should begin. My goal is to learn how to paint digitaly with photoshop and a tablet, concept art type scenes and portraits. I already know photoshop pretty good, I have been using it for the last 2-3 years for a lot of photo manipulation art, so I know quite a bit about the brush engine and such but I never used a tablet.

My main concern is that I think I definatly need to learn to draw so I can get my line art together before I start worrying about digitaly painting it. I havent draw anything on paper for a loooong time and I think I need to start on the right foot. I am pretty much starting from scratch, pencil and paper with no real knowledge of proportions or color values almost at all.

I am not sure where to start, I have sooooooooooooo much to learn it's really hard to decide on what I should focus first.

I hope my post made sense to somebody and sorry if my english is a bit slopy

Old 03-27-2009, 05:19 PM   #2
Rebeccak
Anatomy Forum Leader

CGSociety Member
portfolio
Rebecca Kimmel
Founder + Owner
Korpus School of Art + Gallery
Los Angeles, USA

Heya, welcome aboard. I would say that if you haven't drawn for a while, the obvious solution is to start drawing. I would also highly recommend starting to take classes for traditional still life and figure drawing - still life drawing first, figure drawing second. There's no magic pill, it's all just hard work and practice.