Modeling clay (which brand/ type)

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

08 August 2009
Modeling clay (which brand/ type)

Hey,

I'm not exactly sure where to post this, but i feel this is a good place, but if it's wrong, please remove mods. Thanks.

So, i'm looking to start getting into tradational sculpting for anatomy learning.

So far i've been looking at sculpey and plasticine, as i'm totally new i'm not quite sure what is best suited for modeling detailed models of anatomical models i.e. face with muscles, torsos, legs and arms, with and with out muscles.

Any help/ links would be great,

Thanks.

Dan.

08 August 2009
Hi Dan,

I'm a total noob at sculpture, having sculpted a grand total of 2 sculpts but between water based and oil based clay, I prefer oil based, which I tried only yesterday! It apparently never (or not for years) dries, and needs only to be protected from dust and not remoistened.

You might check out some dvds or some youtube videos to get you started.

-R

Korpus School of Art + Gallery
www.korpus-la.com
Facebook Page | Blog
korpus.info@gmail.com
Downtown Los Angeles

08 August 2009
Thanks for the reply

I was looking into oil based clays, i don't really want to have the hassle of wetting the clay every few minutes, so i think i'll have a look around for some oil based clays.

Would this type of oil-based modeling clay be ok for sculpting of heads and small creatures (Possibly with a metal inner skeleton);

http://www.homecrafts.co.uk/product...ercine_M357.htm

I'll also have a look aroud on youtube/ vimeo

Thanks,

Dan.

08 August 2009
Oil based clays are the best for studies since you can change them easily. Regular clays (clays you fire in a kiln) dry SO fast. It's stupid. When I have sculpted I've mixed a few clays together.