In need of Advice on Drawing

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

05 May 2010
Talking In need of Advice on Drawing

Hello my name is Ambrose Mcduffy

I am looking for some critiques on my sketches for things I need to improve.

I'm pretty much new to drawing and is self taught, I watched a couple of DVD like, Vilppu and Gnomon, and they pretty much helped a lot.

The reason I decided to draw is three reason, One is I need to have my foundation right before I move to other mediums like, zbrush, photoshop, etc.

The other reason is because I want to get into the art institute or Columbia College here in Chicago, and need a pretty sick portfolio.

The last an final reason is because I love doing it, even though I'm not as good as I want to be, I love drawing and it's a passion of mine.

So any advice would do tips that you may have when you started on things you do now, anything would be helpful.

Thank you.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg sketch_02small.jpg (83.5 KB, 166 views)
File Type: jpg sketch_01small.jpg (76.7 KB, 157 views)

06 June 2010
re

Hey nice to see the sketches. Well if i have to answer then in first sketch, when you are drawing a Sportsmen (boxer is guess) try to draw a fit here it looks like a boxer with tummy, and yeah shoulders should be strong thats the case in both sketches and in 2nd one the left half of the body looks weaker then other half . Personally i like the 1st sketch , do more practice you will get the success, am sure.

Good luck

06 June 2010
I think you're got a really good start here!