CGTalk > More Forums > Click Here for: > Nevercenter Silo
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-27-2008, 06:56 PM   #16
John Keates
Fiddler
 
John Keates's Avatar
john keates
United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,470
Sculpting in silo makes more sense once you take into account that you can recreate lower subdivisions in zbrush. You can do your base-mesh modelling in silo and sculpt lower res forms while still being able to change the base mesh, then you can take the high-res obj into zbrush, get back the base mesh and work away. Then Silo is a very good tool for re-topology (I much prefer it to zbrush and it is getting better).

So I see it as a very good companion to zbrush. The sculpting tools were meant to compliment, not replace those of zbrush and they do this well IMO.
 
Old 06-27-2008, 07:43 PM   #17
miurajiro
Veteran
portfolio
Jiro
USA
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 38
Wow, couldn't have gotten better feedback.
Thanks Mark, John, Brandon for all the details!!
 
Old 06-27-2008, 09:12 PM   #18
MarkInTx
Hobbyist
 
MarkInTx's Avatar
Mark Grice
N/A
Grapevine, USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 414
Quote:
Originally Posted by John Keates
Then Silo is a very good tool for re-topology (I much prefer it to zbrush and it is getting better).


I agree with that cmpletely. I find it amazing that the zBrush re-topo workflow is basically two parts:

1. Paint the lines your want on the mesh using a 2D brush then
2. Add new topology point by point.

To me that is doing it twice. With the new retopology tool at Silo this is MUCH faster!

BTW, miurajiro, feel free to also join in the discussion at: http://www.silo3d.com/forum/

You can join even if you don't have the software. The group is not as active as some forums, but very helpful!
__________________
“Every child is an artist. The problem is how to remain an artist once we grow up.” - Picasso
 
Old 06-30-2008, 09:06 PM   #19
_Feed_
Silo developer
Nevercenter
USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 34
Just to clarify in case anyone's confused, Silo can generate displacement maps. (It's in the Materials menu under "Generate Displacement Map".) It just can't export 32-bit maps, although that is coming soon.

You can generate maps from the subdivided shape to the base mesh, or from two or more completely different objects. (The last selected object is the target.) Hope that helps!
 
Old 06-30-2008, 11:10 PM   #20
John Keates
Fiddler
 
John Keates's Avatar
john keates
United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,470
Yeah, I guess I should have mentoined that.
 
Old 06-30-2008, 11:39 PM   #21
Boone
Lord of the posts
portfolio
-
United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 8,167
The other thing I like about Silo is its speed. Sure, you could get Lightwave, XSI or TrueSpace(whatever) but its speed in loading up and run-time is only matched by Blender. Recently I've become more familiar with Blender and have wondered if there is any difference between the two, but I think Silo is still faster and more dedicated. Silo's interface is more comfortable as well.

By making it a modelling-only package it becomes much easier to maintain and locate the root of all evil(bugs!). It reminds me of something Scotty once said in Search for Spock: "The more you add to the sink, the easier it is to block up the pipes" - or something like that. Roughly translates to "The more features you add the easier it is for something to go wrong...".

What I would like to see next is for Messiah(or a similar animation-only tool) to take off and become an industry standard for all things animation. When you think about it Maya is hailed as an animation package and not a modeller. Autodesk may as well just ditch the modelling'n'texturing and just focus on the animation and rendering. Packages like Modo and Zbrush are now the industry standards for modelling now so why bother wasting time & money competing with them when you know Maya's tool set simply cannot compete? Its like trying to race a Ford Escort against a TVR.

Anyway, thats wishful thinking. All Hail Silo etc...
__________________
Silo, 3D Coat, Blender
C, C++, Java

Currently working on...HCR #42
 
Old 07-01-2008, 01:37 PM   #22
MarkInTx
Hobbyist
 
MarkInTx's Avatar
Mark Grice
N/A
Grapevine, USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 414
Well, to be fair, Feed... you mean the current 2.1 beta generates Displacement Maps. Silo 2 (current release) doesn't have that option -- or at least it doesn't show in my Materials menu.

Your point that it is coming soon is valid though.

My question is, when you say 32-bit maps are "coming soon" do you think it will make this cycle? Or are you thinking it makes the next round, 2.2 or whatever...?



Quote:
Originally Posted by _Feed_
Just to clarify in case anyone's confused, Silo can generate displacement maps. (It's in the Materials menu under "Generate Displacement Map".) It just can't export 32-bit maps, although that is coming soon.

You can generate maps from the subdivided shape to the base mesh, or from two or more completely different objects. (The last selected object is the target.) Hope that helps!
__________________
“Every child is an artist. The problem is how to remain an artist once we grow up.” - Picasso
 
Old 07-01-2008, 04:45 PM   #23
_Feed_
Silo developer
Nevercenter
USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 34
That's true about 2.0, but the latest release version from several months ago (2.0.5) has displacement export. It's the current version available for download at www.nevercenter.com (and a free upgrade from 2.0). It also fixed a bunch of display issues, so you should definitely grab it.

We're uncertain which numbered release 32-bit maps will make it into, but it won't have much effect on the timing. If it's ready by 2.1 we'll put it in, otherwise it will be part of a smaller subsequent update. In other words, you'll get it as soon as it's ready. Hope that helps!
 
Old 07-01-2008, 06:22 PM   #24
MarkInTx
Hobbyist
 
MarkInTx's Avatar
Mark Grice
N/A
Grapevine, USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 414
Quote:
Originally Posted by _Feed_
). It also fixed a bunch of display issues, so you should definitely grab it.


I already grabbed it for the new surface tool :-)
__________________
“Every child is an artist. The problem is how to remain an artist once we grow up.” - Picasso
 
Old 07-01-2008, 06:22 PM   #25
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,481
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 02:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.