Is Silo worth it?

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

Old 05 May 2008   #1
Is Silo worth it?

I am sorry to ask especially that posts of 'what's best' type usually create a lot of confusion but I am new to 3D and Silo really looks like a great package but when I check here all I see is 3 posts and this wonders me.

ZBrush was my first choice but I am a Mac user and using bootcamp (memory eater) is not not a option for me. Also nobody really knows what's the release date further giving me thoughts that next update/release my end up same for Mac users.

So when I looked at Silo and have it's trial running few days now I find it super fun to work with. Considering my budget I can not allow myself to buy two applications at this time and was wondering if Silo alo is good enough to get me going for some time.

I like it it's just such a low input about it on several forums makes me really wonder.

Hope anybody will understand what I mean

Best regards.

Old 05 May 2008   #2
Well, it's really two different tihngs I would say.

Silo is really a sub-d modeling app with some nice displacement painting tools, but if you are really looking for some hardcore displacement work then I'd stick with Z-brush.

Old 05 May 2008   #3
I would recommend Silo for now. Even if you do go for Zbrush you will still need an app for creating polygon base meshes. Silo can do this very well and can even do sculpting to a level that will get you through a HMC or two.

Economically you could spend £70 now and have a great app to get started with. Give yourself a good six months to save up £300 for ZBrush - by which time Pixologic will most likely have the new Mac version completed. From what I hear theres a bit of frustration amungst the Mac users of ZBrush on that matter so do yourself a favour and sit it out whilst saving your cash and practicing your skills with Silo.