Hold Steadfast Silo users ! Opinions

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

Old 04 April 2006   #1
Thumbs up Hold Steadfast Silo users ! Opinions

I just bought Silo a couple days ago knowing that Daz/Hex 2 were ready to offer a special promotion at anytime. I did not know that Hex2 was to be released as quickly as it did.
I read the specs for Hex2 and was interested as a potential modeler.
BUT I still felt (feel) that Silo IS a good choice for a modeling tool. Granted I'm just learning how to use it. There's something postive about Silo and support I feel is good.
I know users are going ape over the pricing ($30's dollars) versus the $109 price tag for Silo.
I still feel the $109 tag for Silo WILL be worth it in the long run.
Just want to see more doc's (pdf and such) and videos.

What are your feelings about this marketing strategy and future outlook ?
Thanks for those that may respond.

Old 04 April 2006   #2
Hexagon at 30 dollars US is indeed a good bargain. However, I will stick with Silo. When I purchased Silo, I downloaded just about every trial version of all polygon modellers I could find. And modelling with Silo just felt natural. The lack of gazillion of icons, the workflow, the customizability, the speed... it was just what I needed.

If you go for prize alone, there is of course, Wings3d, which is also a great modelling program.

Or sketchup, which now has a free edition too!

I am sure you will be happy with your purchase. And Silo 2.0 is just round the corner...

Old 04 April 2006   #3
Quote: I still feel the $109 tag for Silo WILL be worth it in the long run

$109 is a bargain for Silo in any run - long or short, if you ask me. It's bearly the price of a night on the lash.

$30 for Hex is ape-shit, and I'm sure its userbase is swelling like a leech in a slaughter-house; but I'll take Silos' streamlined, efficient workflow any day.