CGTalk > More Forums > Click Here for: > Nevercenter Silo
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-12-2006, 12:09 AM   #1
I sink your battleship!
ThePumpkinKing's Avatar
Ian Vincent Shuff
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 598
Inverted Normals when I export from Silo

Okay, I recently modeled a crab tank from Ryan Church's website, and I want to export it to Softimage and Zbrush, but when I export as obj to either, I get inverted normals on some of the objects. Does anybody know why this is happening, becuase it would be a hassle to select all of the objects (especially in ZBRUSH) and flip the normals everytime.
Dialog and characters that transcend their video game origins, thus highlighting humanity's place in the universe. -Paul W.S. Anderson IMDB Trademark
Old 04-17-2006, 05:01 AM   #2
New Member
Goon's Avatar
Ezra Schwepker
Seattle, USA
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 2,286
Send a message via AIM to Goon
Could it be that the normals are already inverted in silo, just unlike XSI, silo doesn't display the polygons as black, so you didn't notice?

I've encountered the same inverted normals, just I've always accepted it as user error. Perhaps I shall look further.
Old 04-17-2006, 02:58 PM   #3
still hooked on real life
JuanManuel's Avatar
Juan Manuel Bautista Hoepfner
freelance cg architectural design and visualization
Puebla, Mexico
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 391
Send a message via ICQ to JuanManuel Send a message via AIM to JuanManuel Send a message via MSN to JuanManuel Send a message via Yahoo to JuanManuel
Some programs, not just Shade, invert the normals of the meshes they operate under certain circumstances. The clearest example is the instance mirror command in Silo. Once un-instanced, the object it creates has its normals reversed. You can configure Silo to show only forward-facing normals, so you do not get surprises later on.
Old 04-17-2006, 06:46 PM   #4
Lord of the posts
rasmusW's Avatar
Rasmus Warming
3d artist
Copenhagen, Denmark
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 1,366
Send a message via MSN to rasmusW
if you are using zbrush, you can flip the normals by masking the flipped geometry and press "flip" in the "display properties" -option box.
note this only works in the lowest subdiv level.

-so i'll guess juan's suggestion would be the best thing to do.

Old 04-17-2006, 06:46 PM   #5
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,478
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
Thread Closed share thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Society of Digital Artists

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 02:12 PM.

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.