CGTalk > More Forums > Click Here for: > Nevercenter Silo
Login register
reply share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-04-2014, 07:20 AM   #16
Fakepilots
New Member
portfolio
Mattias Lindberg
Motion Designer
Fake Pilot AB
stockholm, Sweden
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 3
Removed Silo downloaded from the App Store and downloaded the 2.3 trial for Mac from nevercenter.com. Unfortunately, it still crashes on every attempt to start it. It did however, show a register window that I dismissed and then a glimpse of the Silo interface. Then it crashes.
 
Old 07-04-2014, 03:20 PM   #17
nik75
New Member
portfolio
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 5
One thing I'd like to see are bezier curves and an extrude along curves tool.
Also an extrude steps type thing might be good where you can type in extrude 5 steps and a distance for example.
Any chance of actually getting some kind of history type stuff in there?
 
Old 07-06-2014, 05:56 PM   #18
zeropainter
New Member
portfolio
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 18
Exclamation

Hello dear mikefarny, I installed LINUX KUBUNTU now, really fresh over a new partition. Now I have the same black windows in silo ...

What can I do, what can we do? I think it's a problem with qt5 and kubuntu?

Any idea for me and other users?

I installed also the recomended NVIDIA Driver. Hope that someone can help

[img=http://abload.de/thumb/bildschirmfoto1qcs4p.jpg]

Last edited by zeropainter : 07-06-2014 at 06:00 PM.
 
Old 07-09-2014, 01:01 PM   #19
trancerobot
Art Compiler
 
trancerobot's Avatar
portfolio
Christian Storay
BIM & VDC Modeler
USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 604
Wow, an actual update! I'll be trying this as soon as I'm able.
 
Old 07-10-2014, 01:05 PM   #20
zeropainter
New Member
portfolio
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 18
I have black Windows also in UBUNTU :( I don't know why, I mailed it to your support-mail account, dear nevercenter-readers.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Bildschirmfoto1.jpg (83.0 KB, 15 views)

Last edited by zeropainter : 07-10-2014 at 01:09 PM.
 
Old 07-12-2014, 05:19 PM   #21
mikefarny
Frequenter
portfolio
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 111
Quote:
Originally Posted by zeropainter
I have black Windows also in UBUNTU :( I don't know why, I mailed it to your support-mail account, dear nevercenter-readers.


Which ubuntu version? Any other changes from the usual besides just using the binary nvidia drivers?
 
Old 07-12-2014, 05:34 PM   #22
zeropainter
New Member
portfolio
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 18
Hello dear Mike, I use Ubuntu 14.04 64bit, the newest version. Black screens I have also with the free opensource driver. I did have the same also with Lubuntu and Kubuntu ..

I changed nothing after the installation. But maybe there are some fragements from Kubuntu in Ubuntu? Because I used the same partitions / and I didn't have made a format of these. But ubuntu runs fine, only not with silo ...

End the gear test (glxgears) was also fine, with fast rotations.

In Windows runs the new silo 2.3 fine (I have a dual-boot-system).

Last edited by zeropainter : 07-12-2014 at 05:39 PM.
 
Old 07-17-2014, 06:57 PM   #23
polygon5
New Member
portfolio
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 1
An update(!), great news, I'm back to Silo after a very long time! No problems so far on my MAC (OSX 10.9.4)
 
Old 07-29-2014, 08:36 PM   #24
danmarell
3D slave monkey
 
danmarell's Avatar
portfolio
Daniel Elliott
FX TD
Weta Digital
United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 144
I'm just wondering now how many of these posts from 'users' are from fake accounts. Here is a grab from nevercenter's fb page where there is a comment from a 'user' but NC have forgotten to switch accounts. That's pretty unprofessional and embarrassing. Unless there is a simple explanation of course......

__________________
www.danielelliott.co.uk
 
Old 07-30-2014, 02:25 AM   #25
NormalNutcase
Veteran
portfolio
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 46
Who cares, they are just a small team of developers. You are just being petty.
But it is funny!

Last edited by NormalNutcase : 07-30-2014 at 03:39 AM.
 
Old 08-02-2014, 12:57 PM   #26
zeropainter
New Member
portfolio
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 18
I'm in facobook too, but why I should use in facebook my realname? So I'm a facebookfake too ... but it means nothing, because I'm a Silo-User since some years
 
Old 09-23-2014, 06:17 PM   #27
mikefarny
Frequenter
portfolio
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 111
Can any of you who experienced the black-screen issue on Ubuntu (or derivatives thereof) who haven't yet been in contact with Nevercenter support PM me or email support@nevercenter.com? We have an Ubuntu 14.04 LTS specific build that we're testing to see if it fixes the issue.

I tried for the life of me to reproduce the issue, but I couldn't ever get it to trigger. So the build is a tiny bit of a shot in the dark, but we'd like to not force people to run Silo in a CentOS or Fedora VM if their primary is Ubuntu.
 
Old 09-23-2014, 06:35 PM   #28
zeropainter
New Member
portfolio
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 18
I installed Fedora on a extern USB-HDD, but I did have there also black-window issues. Is this maybe also an issue with my hardware also/only?

Okay, today I did get a mail from Stephanie from your company, I will try that build
But I couldn't dowload it from google, I will try it tomorrow - its a google problem ...

ps. Maybe it will run okay, if I will spend next weeks a new GPU - I will replace my weak Geforce GTX 550Ti with a new GTX970 ... (not for silo, because silo don't need a powerfull GPU, but for other grafic tools I need more power & vram).

Last edited by zeropainter : 09-23-2014 at 07:12 PM.
 
Old 09-23-2014, 07:30 PM   #29
mikefarny
Frequenter
portfolio
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 111
You also got it on Fedora (20 I assume)? I'm beginning to wonder if Silo is doing something odd with OpenGL that is tripping up on certain hardware. I'll keep investigating, although it's hard because I simply haven't been able to trigger the black screen issue at all on any of my setups.
 
Old 09-23-2014, 07:39 PM   #30
mikefarny
Frequenter
portfolio
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 111
Quote:
Originally Posted by danmarell
I'm just wondering now how many of these posts from 'users' are from fake accounts. Here is a grab from nevercenter's fb page where there is a comment from a 'user' but NC have forgotten to switch accounts. That's pretty unprofessional and embarrassing. Unless there is a simple explanation of course......


I'll ask Stephanie what happened with that comment, because that does look pretty bizarre. I don't have any access to the Silo3D facebook account (heck, I don't even have a facebook login for myself), but it's probably just a comment from a user that came in via email that she was quoting and didn't properly attribute. She's definitely not one to pull shenanigans.
 
reply share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 05:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.