How about Open Sourcing Silo?

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

View Poll Results: Would YOU be interested in buying and Open Sourcing Silo?
Yes. I'm interested in developing it and have some time to spare. 5 25.00%
Yes, but I'm not a developer, so it has to be as a tester. 12 60.00%
No, I think this would turn a stable program into a mess. 2 10.00%
No, I think that Open Sourcing this project is a bad idea. 1 5.00%
Voters: 20. You may not vote on this poll

REPLY TO THREAD

Old 12 December 2013   #1
How about Open Sourcing Silo?

After what I can see it hasn't received any updates the LAST TWO YEARS or so.
Is this application about to vaporize into oblivion?

If so I think it's a shame that they don't open-source it, so that others can take the responsibility of bringing this program up to date and fix eventual bugs etc.

This is a open suggestion:
I work as a programmer using C++, Python, C# and some other tools.
I'd be honored if I could make this project move forward by engaging a group of fellow programmers to take care of this extremely valuable little modeling application.

There is a definite need for an application like this for people that are sick of all the never-ending bugs that keeps flowing in and out of Autodesk's products and for those without the financial backing needed to use these programs legally and do not qualify for student software.

Now that The Foundry has snatched Luxology, the prices will only keep getting higher, and Modo which was once a plain polygonal modeler starts to take on a "cram it all into one package" appearance.

Some people might like that, but I believe in the old UNIX philosophy, to have one tool do one thing extremely well, and then combine multiple such tools to create a production chain.

So, if anyone is with me on this way of thinking, let's gather the forces and start by contacting the representatives over at Nevercenter.com.