CGTalk > More Forums > Click Here for: > Nevercenter Silo
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-19-2012, 01:01 AM   #1
noobish
New Member
portfolio
Paul Jackson
Dorchester, United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 2
Help crashing Silo already

Freeby version.
Installed it Friday and have got it to malfunction 3 or 4 times today.
The object I'm trying to construct is like a bone. I made it from a cube and raised one end, flared it then bevelled so it's kinda like a socket. The other end is slightly balled and every time I select the balled face and try and work on it the application crashes.
I have subdivided 3 times coz I need to work on the curvey bits and I like to see how it is.
Any advice on avoiding this and perhaps more importantly will this prob persist if I buy?

Will say this is soooo much easier than Hexagon.
 
Old 12-05-2012, 05:59 PM   #2
paaolo3d
New Member
portfolio
paul jack
glasgow, United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2
Me too!! All I'm doing is creating a square using the edge tool and pressing P to turn in into a polygon. Crashes EVERY time...

Time to move on to the next bit of software I think...

Cant post on the actual SILO forum as registration is closed.
 
Old 12-10-2012, 11:40 PM   #3
noobish
New Member
portfolio
Paul Jackson
Dorchester, United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 2
Update

There maybe an issue...
I have a Samsung HD204UI ADA hard drive and this began flashing up the Hard disk failing message not long after I tried out Silo. Several Scandisks have reported no problem and the message has gone away after not using Silo for a week or so.
Silo was the only new software and the only suspect if... Software can cause Windows to flash up terrifying messages without any actual problems.

Sigh totally out of my league on this perhaps somebody who knows what they're talking about could comment.
 
Old 12-19-2012, 01:47 PM   #4
paaolo3d
New Member
portfolio
paul jack
glasgow, United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2
still crashing!

SILO really does look like it'll meet my needs perfectly but if it can't make a simple polygon without crashing then I'm forked from the outset.

With ZERO support I guess I'll just have to go elsewhere.


Why won't these guys just make it open source or at least start developing it again.


FRUSTRATING AS HELL!
 
Old 01-03-2013, 09:24 PM   #5
oldone
New Member
 
oldone's Avatar
portfolio
Jim B
United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 15
When Silo 2.2 crashes there is usually a problem with a mesh like stray vertices or
faces that cross each other.
Voidworld is currently in open beta and is being tipped as a new Silo it is well worth
a look IMHO.
http://www.polycount.com/forum/show...t=74005&page=82
 
Old 01-03-2013, 09:24 PM   #6
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,480
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 10:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.