CGTalk > More Forums > Click Here for: > Nevercenter Silo
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-03-2012, 11:08 AM   #1
TimNikias
Pover
 
TimNikias's Avatar
portfolio
Tim Nikias Wenclawiak
Computer Engineer
Germany
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 60
Bug: OBJ-File import from Meshlab

Well, even though I'm wondering if Silo will ever get another update and how frequently Nevercenter checks this forum, I figured someone else might appreciate the heads up.

Silo2.2 (Mac) cannot import OBJ files which where exported from Meshlab. The trouble seems to be with the comment lines starting with the #-sign, on the Mac this leads to a crash of the Silo software, I might check if the same applies to the Windows version, if I remember to check it the next time I switch on my humongous and old PC.

For my current requirements it was sufficient to open the file in a text-editor and remove the lines starting with #, but the bigger the file, the less this approach is appropriate. I'd like to see Silo getting a more robust reading (shouldn't be too difficult with an ASCII-based file...), but one can only hope. ;-)

Regards,
Tim
__________________
----------------
Tim Nikias
Homepage: http://www.nolights.de
 
Old 09-03-2012, 01:23 PM   #2
futagoza
Lord of the posts
 
futagoza's Avatar
portfolio
Stefan
Germany
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 602
Hi Tim,

you could do the following if the .obj files are to large:

Open terminal and input the following line (before "cd" to the directory where the .obj is located):

Code:
sed '/^\#/d' input.obj >output.obj


or load the .obj into Wings3D and save from there.

sure, only a workaround, but better then waiting until the bug is fixed. BTW. Silo 1.4 does not have this problem...

Regards
Stefan
 
Old 09-03-2012, 02:45 PM   #3
frabec
Explorer
--------
Germany
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 10
As the OBJ comes in triangulated you can try MeshLab´s dxf exporter, which files works in Silo.

Cheers
 
Old 09-04-2012, 07:00 AM   #4
TimNikias
Pover
 
TimNikias's Avatar
portfolio
Tim Nikias Wenclawiak
Computer Engineer
Germany
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 60
Thanks for the hint using sed, that might make things easier going forward. As for using 1.4, a couple of features in 2.2 (naturally) aren't in 1.4, so even though 1.4 might be sufficient for small fixes, it wouldn't be of use to me for larger projects.

Regards,
Tim
__________________
----------------
Tim Nikias
Homepage: http://www.nolights.de
 
Old 09-04-2012, 07:00 AM   #5
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,480
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 12:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.