Suggestions Texturing and Rendering Apps for Silo

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

08 August 2017
Suggestions Texturing and Rendering Apps for Silo

Hi,
I've been using Silo for a while, but strictly modeling; now I want to texture the models and render them, I like the grey like rendering look, so I'm asking fellow Silo users which apps you use to texture then render your models. Apps that are simple and affordable like Silo.

Thank you.

08 August 2017
Simple and affordable don't usually go hand-in-hand. However, there is an app I like to use that is free but not necessarily simple. Theappleseed renderer is opensource but the standalone .studio is not truly artist friendly yet. I have been using it a bit for a few years but mostly just played around in it. There is a Max, Maya and Blender plug-in being developed but only the Max is really very usable. However, the quality of the output is quite high and I see several updates to the code being posted to Github every day.

Also, you can access and render with appleseed from the command line. This would allow you to use the render option in Silo to get a quick grey scale rendering.

Apart from that I usually import my files into 3ds Max and use Corona Renderer. Not a real fan of Vray and I can't afford to buy any others.

Here are some quick renders I did in appleseed using very simple materials so I could test out the last preview build of the Max plug-in.

09 September 2017
Hiya!

I'm not sure if I already made this post...somewhere...maybe... (dang medication I'm on messes with my memory and sense of time!). Huh...