CGTalk > Techniques > Art Techniques and Theories
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  

Old 11-11-2009, 08:53 AM   #1
Boxcarwilli
Veteran
Marc
USA

Where to start for the self taught beginner?

For starters, this thread here has a TON of good resources, tutorials and theories. However, where do I start and what would be a good cirriculm for someone who wants to teach themselves?

The problem Im having is I want to create some short, medium and long term plans in regards to my self taught education in drawing/painting. I have long term goals, but, those shouldnt factor in so much I dont think for someone wanting a good foundation that can open more doors later on.

I could simply look at a local uni degree requirements for a BFA and match up the course descriptions to the resources in the url I provided above, but I would rather here from the folks here who are trying to teach themselves and even better, for those of you out there that have established yourself, what would you recommend to a noob on the self taught track?

Thanks! Any help is appreciated.

Old 11-11-2009, 04:11 PM   #2
Lunatique
Pragmatic Dreamer

CGTalk Forum Leader
portfolio
Robert Chang
Artist|Writer|Composer
Photographer|Director
Lincoln, USA

It would help if you told us what your goals are in terms of career or personal fulfillment. Do you have specific areas of interest? Do you intend to make a living at it? What's your financial and job situation like in the next few years? How much free time do you typically have in a week?

Old 11-11-2009, 05:57 PM   #3
Boxcarwilli
Veteran
Marc
USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lunatique
It would help if you told us what your goals are in terms of career or personal fulfillment. Do you have specific areas of interest? Do you intend to make a living at it? What's your financial and job situation like in the next few years? How much free time do you typically have in a week?

Great questions!