CG Artists: Nerds with a creative side or Artists with a geeky side?

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

Old 08 August 2003   #1
Talking CG Artists: Nerds with a creative side or Artists with a geeky side?

I've always run into this dilemma while talking to other CG people. I'm really a middle-ground, I've been using computers as much as I've been an artist, so it's really hard to classify me, but most other artists I know are either artists who are computer-savvy or nerds with an artistic spark.

What do you think?

XSI since Aug 10,2003, Max since June 1st,2002, Photoshop since 1998, Flash since 1995.
Respect:Johan Thorngren Paul Debevec Ed Harriss Neil Blevins Nik Clark George Saliba DeathBrain
Resources:CGTalk 3DBuzz XSIBase MaxForums Spiraloid 3D Palace CG Channel InsideCG

Old 08 August 2003   #2
"Computer Geeks" and Artists are both creative. I always use the example of John Romero and John Carmack of ID. Romero is an artist of design. He pulls together great creatures and levels while making the tools to do the job. Carmack is a programming artist. He can come up with creative ways of handling graphics that is outside the realm of what most programmers can think of. They're both creative geniuses, and in my opinon, both artists, regardless of the fact that Romero is a gaming super-freak and Carmack is a programming zealot.

So just tell 'em you're an artist and be done with it.

Old 08 August 2003   #3
From what I've seen, the most talented CG people are the ones who are artists first and computer enthusiasts second. For example, the ones who are able to draw and/or paint well are usually able to transfer their artistic abilities to a computer screen as well. Pure geeks, on the other hand, learn the app very quickly, but never really create anything with high artistic value. Imho, of coarse.

Old 08 August 2003   #4