Wondering

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

02 February 2009
Wondering

For a while now, I've had it in mind to do an image, using Max, composed entirely of ephemera, old letters, ads, photos, cards, stuff like that. Either on like a bulletin board or in like a shadowbox. But I'm not sure where that comes down in art. Is it a good use of 3D? Would it be just as good done in Photoshop? I'm just not sure where it stands in terms of art. I'm primarily an illustrator. I do like to think what I do is art, and many years of traditional art instruction lead me to believe I at least halfway know what I'm doing. I'm just not sure that a scene composed of entirely paper works into the whole genre.

02 February 2009
I think it's a good idea, and to make it worthwhile to do it in 3D, you must treat the image like it really exists in a spatial reality. Light the "scene" so that there's a sense of depth. Take a look at Dave McKean's early work (before he even started using Photoshop, like the early Sandman covers). He would use objects, photographs, drawing/painting, cutouts...etc and construct an image that has a sense of real presence.

02 February 2009
Well, in this case, I want to use Vray and get as close to photo realism as I can. Not something I usually do. I tend to not like to take images that far. But in this case, I want it real. I just wasn't sure that portraying a scene of just papers and photos and ephemera, although from different time periods, was a worthy thing to do artwise.

02 February 2009
http://www.gbtate.com/auctionsalesx...aidinfull4x.jpg there's the one I was looking for

02 February 2009