Practice Practice Practice makes perfect...

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

Old 07 July 2008   #1
Practice Practice Practice makes perfect...

Alright now I am here to pose at first a simple question. Then expand on that question.

Does practicing really make perfect?

With all of the technology involved does this old saying even true with this?

You learn and learn in 3d.. and it doesn’t mean squat 2 years later..
With painting, a new program comes out every 8 months...

Now can someone with little natural talent besides an active imagination and some drive
sit back and practice, unguided by anyone, no schools completely self taught, actually succeed in the professional world?

I personally would like to learn how to paint. But there was a point where I was doing it everyday, and not seeing improvement it seemed pointless as all the work I did I wasn’t happy with. I did a daily sketch for months and didn’t really even post most of them.

So, how to get better? What practice or kinds of practice should someone be doing really?

All those sketches /paints were me doing my own thing..

Can someone do there own thing, (don’t copy other artists, shy away from tutorials) and become better? To me it seems like rehashing the same stuff..
And Lastly..

Tutorials, do they really help? Or is it just another "trick" added to your arsenal without actually becoming better?

Old 07 July 2008   #2
Well, let's see some of these questions...
Quote:
With all of the technology involved does this old saying even true with this?

You learn and learn in 3d.. and it doesn’t mean squat 2 years later..
With painting, a new program comes out every 8 months...