2D Artist looking for good way to learn Color theory

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

Old 06 June 2008   #1
2D Artist looking for good way to learn Color theory

Hello to all that read this
Currently I am a 2D artist with sadly no color knowledge ( Mainly because Im a student..Yes excuses are fun ) Anyways Im looking for a way to learn color theory. But If perhaps that is not possible a disscussion of the matter like any general guidelines to follow or Ideas and thoughts from others.

Old 06 June 2008   #2
Try a color theory or 2D design class.

Korpus School of Art + Gallery
www.korpus-la.com
Facebook Page | Blog
korpus.info@gmail.com
Downtown Los Angeles

Old 06 June 2008   #3
hehe...Sadly I am in community college and our Art department does not have a color theory class and the 2d design class was using black and white..ZColor was used at times but no real explanation was given as the class focused mainly on composition.

Old 06 June 2008   #4
There are many graphic design books out there - check your local bookstore.

Also, you can always do it the old fashioned way -- look at various art pieces both good and bad. On the good ones, describe to yourself what colors they're using, and why you think they may have chosen those colors. Pay attention to how the color affects the mood fo the paintings. On the bad ones, try to figure out what about their color use sucks and what might make it better. Then do the same thing in real life.

Old 06 June 2008   #5
i bought a book called "color" by betty edwards a couple years back that was really informative. i definately reccomend it

Old 06 June 2008   #6
Practical Light and Color from TheGnomonWorkshop is a great title, it helped me alot for my paintings, but it is no replacement for a class in color theory, but if u cant dedicate the time or resources into taking the class then this is the next best thing