(newbie) bst comptr 2 wrk w/

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

Old 11 November 2006   #1
Question (newbie) bst comptr 2 wrk w/

I'm just starting out here in the whole visual art category and I'm needing to know what brand and even model of computer is best to work with. I've heard the Apple computers are the best from one college I was thinking about attending, but for some reason I'm somewhat doubtful on that. If I can, I'd just really like to stay w/ a windows computer because I'd rather not learn how to work the Apple computers since their processes & everything else is so different. And when I say visual arts I'm practically meaning everything: animation, 2D images, 3D images, gaming, plain 1D graphics, etc. And even if you could, what are some programs that you would highly recommend for beginners for the categories that I listed? I already have PaintShop Pro, & I've been working w/ it, but was wondering if there's anything else.

Old 11 November 2006   #2
The Mac myth is just that--a myth. Every single game/animation studio I've ever worked at were dominated by PC's, because they are cheaper for the same power, and there are far more available software for PC's than for Mac's. The only exception might be the graphic design/print industry, where they tend to favor Macs, because "designers" are kind of fruity that way (I joke, I joke!)

Old 11 November 2006   #3