Old 10-13-2005, 01:40 PM   #1
-NG-
Impossible!

Nick Groenewegen.
Multimedia Artist
Metro D&C
Berkel en Rodenrijs, Netherlands

Send a message via ICQ to -NG-
How many of you artist have traditional painting experience?

Out of curiosity i wanted to ask how much of you have traditional art and paint expirience? I'm a beginner at painting and are trying to create my own style and am thinking of starting to follow a few evening classes of traditional still live painting, to get comfortable with the different techniques used so i can use the knowledge in digital painting.

I've got books from balistic, dvd's from gnonom and so on, but am not sure if those teach you fundementals in painting and illustration.

NGmultimedia Online portfolio

Old 10-13-2005, 01:42 PM   #2
feldy
Lord of the posts
Jeremy Kendall
Sr. FX Artist
Volition/DeepSilver
L.A/Chicago/Champaign, USA

Send a message via AIM to feldy Send a message via MSN to feldy Send a message via Yahoo to feldy
i have a tradtional background in painting and drawing but when i went to college for 3d i nevr eneded up painting agian

Old 10-13-2005, 05:50 PM   #3
paperclip
Better than staples.

portfolio
Theresa Ryan
Freelance illustrator
Theresa Ryan Visual Development
Castlebar, Ireland

I do...been painting/drawing trad for the past 8 years ish. (more focused in the past 2 years)

I really believe that digital helps your trad painting and vice versa. You can get very rich colors in PS that's hard to get in trad. This will help you with your color sense. Also you can practice painting with your wacom-- you get to learn, but without the mess/waste of good paints. Everyone wins!

Old 10-13-2005, 06:03 PM   #4
reven
Frequenter

i have studied art from the traditional sense...watercolor, sumi-e, sculpting, color and design...