Questions about getting started with tablets

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

01 January 2016
Questions about getting started with tablets

I've been learning how to draw for the last month or so, and now I've decided to get a tablet, since what I really want is to get into digital drawing. That being said, while I'm very new to all this, I was getting better and my lines on paper are feeling much more convincing. So far I've taken the approach of not really paying attention to how good the line is, but paying attention to how good the shapes are, and my lines have improved over time on their own... but now I got a tablet.

It's really hard to draw the lines I want to with the tablet, especially curves. My tablet is a lot smaller than my screen (about 1/4 of it, perhaps even a bit less since my screen is really big), so I tried to map it to a small area to see if that would help, and it did a little, but it still felt slippery and like I didn't have much control over the pen. I cannot for the life of me draw a horizontal line with the tablet, no matter how small the line or how small the screen. It's really weird, because I don't even know why. The tablet's texture is pretty similar to paper, and while it does slide a bit more than graphite on paper, the difference doesn't seem that great, and yet, while I can quickly draw a straightish line from point A to B on paper, with the tablet, no matter how fast I move the pen, my line always comes out really bad. Even when I try to trace over the line I want to make with the pen up before drawing it, as soon as the pen touches the tablet it's like watching a train wreck.

I've heard many people say this is normal when you're starting out with a tablet, so I'm not that worried, but I guess I'm a bit afraid of picking up bad habits, so that's why I'm making this thread. I want to start with the right foot.

So I have a few questions: