Going from Photoshop to Traditional Paint (Long, but please help! :)

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

Old 11 November 2013   #1
Going from Photoshop to Traditional Paint (Long, but please help! :)

I'm a self-taught digital artist, meaning I don't have a traditional art school education, and I recently decided I want to learn everything I can about truly traditional art—namely creating entire pieces from start to finish using pencils, canvas and something like acrylics or gouache.

In fact, my policy for this entire quest is to avoid electricity at all, other than lighting. I want to learn to paint the way artists in bygone centuries (who did, after all, create art that still looks incredible) did it. If they didn't need things like projectors, light boxes and computers, neither should I.

I have a few burning questions, though, which reveal how much I've been spoiled by digital art:

1. How is complex composition handled by traditional painters?

Imagine creating a complex scene with multiple background layers, multiple characters, trees, clouds, etc. As a digital artist, I can spend as long as I want adjusting these elements individually. If I realize after a week of work that a cloud is awkwardly intersecting with a tree, I can shift it over and fix it immediately. If I'm drawing a crowd of people, I can make changes to their distribution incrementally over the course of days or weeks until it's perfect.