Value of Master Studies

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

Old 09 September 2013   #1
Value of Master Studies

Hello everyone!

I'm currently doing a master copy of William Bouguereau's Bather. I got the ref photo from the art renewal center. Here's a link to my progress...bather study

Why am I posting here?

How effective is it to study a photo of a old painting that can be unclear?

First, I started in grayscale. I have much to learn so I wanted to do a value study. I worked with it and got what I could from it.

Then I thought I could also get a color study from this. I like the way Bouguereau does skin so I figured I'll study his stuff.

As I'm starting the color study, I'm struggling with what's poor quality versus what's actual theory.

How can I know that the piece I'm studying is legit and worth while for what I'm going for?

I know I have an untrained eye so to a more experience artist, this may be perfect ref.

Is it me or is this not good ref for a color study of a master?

If not, I'm finding that these master pieces I should be studying are all of the same quality so how can I really use them to learn color?

Anatomy SB
Tumblr
Deviant Art

Old 09 September 2013   #2
Your link requires login and password.

You should also include the link to the reference image too.

Old 09 September 2013   #3
My apologies. I should have checked the link before posting.

ref image. This one may or may not be off of ARC site. I can't remember. I'll do better with source next time.

my grayscale study

and first pass of colors. I still have to learn the different layer functions. I eyeballed the colors then checked myself with eyedropper. I have to work on this, I know that much!

Anatomy SB
Tumblr
Deviant Art

Old 09 September 2013   #4
When you work on master copies, you should have a set of goals of what you'd like to learn from the exercise. For example: