As a Beginner, How Should I Practice Drawing?

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

Old 08 August 2013   #1
Question As a Beginner, How Should I Practice Drawing?

Hello. I've been lurking on these forums on and off for several years, but this is my first time posting, so please bare with me.

Since I don't like long posts, I'll get right to the point...

I'm a beginner with a drive to learn how to draw, but I lack direction. Most of my practice sessions consist of me pretty much just doodling random things in my sketchbook, and honestly, I don't think I'm getting anywhere. Recently, I've been focusing on gesture drawing/sketching, since I think it would be a great way to build up an understanding of form, but I'm not exactly sure how to go about it. As a beginner, should I attempt to draw gestures from my imagination, or a reference? What would be a better way to learn?

Also, roughly how much time should I dedicate to practice each day, and what exercises - apart from gesture drawing - would you recommend?

Thanks in advance for any feedback.

Old 08 August 2013   #2
Purposeless doodling out of your head will get you nowhere. You must have an effective strategy for learning the critical foundations of visual art.

Have you read the sticky threads at the top of this forum yet? If not, you need to do that, because I have given detailed answers to similar questions, explaining how one should learn/practice effectively. This thread is especially helpful for your situation: http://forums.cgsociety.org/showthr...87&page=1&pp=50 (In post #9 I give an examples of what one can do to learn/practice effectively, while working smart instead of just working hard but dumb and wasting time doing things the wrong way.)

Old 08 August 2013   #3
Thank you for your response.