Frustated with anatomy

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

Old 05 May 2013   #1
Frustated with anatomy

Hello everyone! I am new here on CGI.

I want to start to leant how to draw the body but none of the resourced I have tried so far have worked for me.

I have already studied how to draw cubes in many angles, drawing from the right side of the brain so I am a late beginner.

I would like if someone could recommend me a book for beginners but please not loomis.

Loomis is awesome but it just isn't the book for me,believe me I tried,But his book take for granted a lot of things and I am mostly alone on my artistic journey so I don't have the luxury to stop by and ask what he meant every time (took me a lot of hours on the internet to understand elipses on a sphere here http://innao.blogspot.mx/2010/09/he...-solved_28.html).his books aren't beginner friendly at all.

I would like an anatomy book that doesn't take for granted anything but explains the basics of anatomy for beginners. I by no means want something easy just something that is for my skill level

I know i should practice for life but I would like some foundations. I really want to start but most tutorials and youtube videos I see only confuse me.

Sorry for my rant and thank you for your time!.

Old 05 May 2013   #2
Hello! Another new person to CGS here.

When I was learning to draw, Jack Hamm's Drawing the Head and Figure helped me out the most. The breakdowns were very clear and they show many, many steps to each drawing. There will be a point in the book where it does get more complicated but he tends to keep things really easy to understand, and definitely put thought into communicating them.