Have you become a better artist?

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

Old 03 March 2013   #1
Have you become a better artist?

I'm very interested in the 'Becoming a better artist' Workshop with Robert Chang, and was just wondering if anyone here had completed the course as a complete art novice? And if you have could you tell me a little about how you think you progressed as a result and what you got out of it?

Thanks,
Rob.

Old 03 March 2013   #2
the best you can do

hi,
I finished just a few weeks ago the course. When I started, I thought I was an intermediate artist, since I had already get some money with my work. But during the course, I understood that I had a lot to learn. So I m learning again a lot of new and amazing stuff. And what I think now is: what a pity I didn t start with this instead of trying on my own! let me use an example:
Before: Is like going throught the jungle with some maps with some maps, some of them really difficult to read, some of them too simple, some talking about botanics or geologic aspects of the jungle... Yes, you can say that all of them are most or less usefull to go trought the jungle, so the books and tutorials are in you artistical career. But you re never sure where are you or why is that way or another way.
After: You got a compass. You read the stars. You can measure your steps. You understand how Livingstone did it. You know how to do it, where to go, where you must nt go.
Of course, you still have to cross the jungle. You use YOUR feet, your machete. Is still your brain and your will against the jungle.
But I cant imagine a better course for a novice. In fact, is an amazing course for every kind of level, because you can cross the jungle without any help, but even in that case (or precisely in that case) you do apreciate to have a compass.