My first 3D+video composit

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

Old 04 April 2014   #1
Thumbs up My first 3D+video composit

Hello all,
This is my first time compositing to video.

The only thing I've tried that was somewhat similar is in this thread:
http://forums.cgsociety.org/showthread.php?t=1142936
-But compositing to video was much more of an involved process and an ordeal for sure.

I'm aware at about 0:05-0:06 it looks like it's floating up, and it needs darker ground shadows.
Anything else is appreciated.

Old 04 April 2014   #2
For me, the main thing is the animation. It doesn't feel like it has any weight to it.
If you're not confident with giving the animation weight, I'd recommend taking almost all the animation out. It's just killing the whole thing for me.

But for your first comp on a technical front, it's pretty damn fine. Well done.

Guy

Old 04 April 2014   #3
Thanks for the critique.
I'll try to better execute the illusion of weight in later compositing projects.

Thanks again.

Old 04 April 2014   #4
When the robot is standing on 3 legs, you'd expect it to put its weight on those legs and not have the body hover in the same location as it was prior to the leg lift.

Also, there is barely any shadow which causes the robot to float.

One last thing is that the tracking seems to be off slightly at some points which give the appearance that the robot is swaying over the ground.

But all in all its not a bad job for a first time.

Old 04 April 2014   #5
Hey everyone,
After taking applying feedback, this is the latest result.
-Just a still image though.

Old 04 April 2014   #6
Image embed doesn't seem to have worked. Right click/open in new tab worked, though.

Materials and all look great, textures look very good, and I like the robot design.

Notes: