sparkysavar
Frequenter

portfolio
Christina Mayes
Creative Director
Yon and Yonder Studio LLC
Portland, USA

11 Second Club WIP

Okay I'm at the point with this where I really need some indepth feedback to really make it pop and work. I'm not very good with lip sync yet and the stuff I have blocked in isn't polished very much.

Please halp!

Last edited by sparkysavar : 09-18-2013 at 12:10 AM. Reason: Broken link

Old 09-19-2013, 07:45 PM   #2
Phredrek
Animating yo moma!
portfolio
Frederic Djoenaedi
Senior Animator
Ubisoft Toronto
Toronto, Canada

Send a message via MSN to Phredrek
Good stuff. Overall the lip sync feels very muttered. You don't have any really distinct mouth shapes. The dude on the laptop's sync seems late. I know it's crazy, but try taking all of the facial keys and move them back 3 frames... maaaayybe 2 but try 3 first. Might fix it completely.

Here are my animation notes

Laptop dude:
- Try moving his eye-roll from the other guy's "youth" line a few frames later, seems like he's reacting too quickly without it registering the thought and then moving to get upset by it.
- His left hand gesture for "than you can do in a year" doesn't seem to fit, maybe the timing is off or something. Just seems disconnected. Might want to try shifting around the keys to see if it works better 3-5 frames later.
- His eyes don't change shape at all throughout, like he always has that half open sort of look. Which I understand is part of his character but maybe open up his eyes a bit when he starts saying "has it that I can do.."
-when he rotates his torso, his pelvis is totally locked and looks very unnatural.
-When he turns back to his laptop, his head rotation just LOCKS into place, ease into it or overshoot a bit and settle into a slightly different pose.

Hanging out dude:

- Shoulder that just goes up and down on "innovation" is distracting, like it's going up on its own disconnected from the body. You'll have to include the body a bit to sell it