CGTalk > WIP > WIP/Critique: Animation
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
Old 06-21-2013, 05:09 AM   #1
the great saiyaman
Motion Graphics Artist
Too clean CG? WIP

I posted a discussion of this and some artists wanted to see what kind of work I am referring to so here is the link.

I am primarily a motion graphics artist but I am starting to play around with some exterior shots and environments but I feel that these are a bit too clean. I have looked around online and came across the production of Archer (the tv show), in which they use brush stroked textures on their 3D work to give it a more painterly vibe. I have also had a friend suggest that I could use some camera projecting techniques to help as well. Anyways, I thought I would post this up and get some feedback on what I can do to help these shots not be too clean if that makes sense. Thanks for any help or tips, I am greatly appreciative!
Old 06-21-2013, 11:02 AM   #2
Chris Kautz
Freelancer/Character artist.
Send a message via ICQ to Kanga Send a message via MSN to Kanga
The scenes are very basic atm. Its kind of hard to give advice without knowing what look you are shooting for and what you expect from the work you are making. Are you doing this for fun or is it aimed at a specific section of the market?

Just in general there are great terrain editors out there like terragon and vue. You can also get vue to work with 3dsmax in tandem with xtreme. The link below is a pretty basic presentation for multi purpose men's shop I designed meant for China. Its just a rough concept but I used vue and xtreme plus max for it. May give you some ideas.

Have lots of fun
The terminal velocity of individual particles is directly related to pink rabbits on a bank holiday.
Characters, Games, Toys
Old 06-21-2013, 11:46 AM   #3
United Kingdom