Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Old 10-04-2012, 09:50 PM   #1
Mithrandir315
Veteran

Jesse O
Animator
USA

Icarus MFA Thesis Film

Hey all, I am currently an MFA student at The Academy of Art University. For my thesis project, I am making a short 3D animated film. So far, my friend Jeff Bellio has done the character concept art, and he painted the backgrounds. I have done everything else. I am planning to have some help with more modeling soon too. I will be posting updates here on my progress with the film.

Right now I have the characters mostly modeled and rigged. I am currently working on blocking out the entire short. Next week I'll start lighting as well.

You can see my progress so far on the film at my thesis blog - www.jesseobrien.com/thesis

Here is my layout reel; I have been adding my blocking shots to it as I go. I used the Morpheus rig for the 3D animatic, because I didn't have my character modeled yet.

This is the concept art for the boy character.

Concept art for the bird.

One of the background matte paintings.

Old 10-05-2012, 02:07 PM   #2
YashaP
Know-it-All

portfolio
Yasha Peiros
Melbourne, Australia

I like the model of the bird.

Old 10-07-2012, 10:29 PM   #3
Dillster
Always Learning

portfolio
Dylan Saunders
Student
Still in college
Dublin, Ireland

The boys facial expressions were very good.

Old 10-09-2012, 07:33 PM   #4
Mithrandir315
Veteran

Jesse O
Animator
USA

Dillster and YashaP, thanks for the kind words! I have started doing lighting tests. I would love feedback on where I am at with these.

Here I am testing out my lighting and shader. The textures are all placeholder still.

I started lighting these three shots. I only rendered a small portion of each shot to save time, but these give a sense of what the lighting is looking like. The animation is still in the blocking phase, it needs a lot of work. The textures are all still placeholder.

This is an early concept of the boy, by Jeff Bellio.