CGTalk > Software > The Foundry Modo
Login register
reply share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-18-2004, 09:29 PM   #1
SheepFactory
Expert
CGSociety Member
portfolio
x y
Canada
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 16,141
Cool things in Modo no one knows!

Hi Guys ,

Please post your tips and tricks about Modo in this thread!

TO POST IN THIS THREAD YOU NEED TO SHARE A TIP IN YOUR POST , NO "That Rocks , Thats Cool!" TYPE OF POSTS ALLOWED

Please ask questions not in this thread but at the forum.
 
Old 09-18-2004, 09:37 PM   #2
Pazur
Frequenter
 
Pazur's Avatar
portfolio
Lukasz Pazera
Visual Artist, Software Developer
Bialystok, Poland
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 291
Send a message via ICQ to Pazur
- right click on vert/edge/poly in 3d viewport to quickly switch to the appriopriate (vert/edge/poly) mode
- shift-click on the tab on the modo's toolset to display tab under the mouse without switch to it permanently
- drag and drop an image into 3d viewport to set it as backdrop image for this viewport
__________________
Greetings,
Lukasz

lukaszpazera.com
 
Old 09-18-2004, 09:37 PM   #3
pensart
Lightwave rebel
 
pensart's Avatar
portfolio
Pensart Guy
3D freak
Hoeselt, Belgium
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 250
Tip: Try when rotating the viewport to use the rmb instead of the lmb and while rotating the view release the mouse button.
Your model wil now continue to spin until u click it again.
(Its a nice featsure in my opinion)

Pazur: Damn nice tips! simple featsures but they really help the workflow!
__________________
Lightwave | Blender |Modo
Stay hungry, stay foolish. (Steve Jobs)
You may say that I'm a dreamer, but I'm not the only one (John Lennon)
 
Old 09-18-2004, 10:00 PM   #4
Dion Burgoyne
QA Manager, Luxology LLC
 
Dion Burgoyne's Avatar
QA Manager for Luxology
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 255
To easily move between verts edges or polys, simply right-click on them (without an active tool). Or right click on an empty space to bring up the quick select.

Make sure that when you activate a tool (or tool preset) that you look at the information window below the viewports (in the default preset) it will tell you what mouse buttons / ctrl / shift etc.. does for that particular tool.

When creating geometry shift-left click will reset and continue the tool, which makes modeling very fast, but be careful it's really easy to forget that you're holding the shift key down

Overlapping geometry can sometimes happen, if you do things like cut and paste, and if you paste something down twice and/or you manage to create some extra geometry that you don't want, doing a vertex merge and a polygon unify will cleanup situations like that

Quite a number of the "tool buttons" that you see on the default layout, are actually tool presets, on quite a number of them if you look in the command history at the command that was actually fired when you clicked on the button, there may be arguments fired with it. If you select that command, then look at the input window it will show you all of the arguments. You can then erase all of the arguments and hit enter to refire the command, and modo will ask you what you want to set. Vertex Merge is a good example of this, the default is good for 99% of the time, but if you input vert.merge in the command entry, modo will give you more options.
 
Old 09-18-2004, 10:22 PM   #5
ChrisFischer
skee-wee
 
ChrisFischer's Avatar
portfolio
Chris Fischer
Germany
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 485
- when using "lasso select" use the RMB to select components in raycast mode and the MMB to select also points/edges/polygons on the back of the object.

- holding down the control key and clicking on a primitive creates the respective primitive without the need of "drawing" the object
__________________
www.chrisfischerart.com
 
Old 09-18-2004, 10:27 PM   #6
pensart
Lightwave rebel
 
pensart's Avatar
portfolio
Pensart Guy
3D freak
Hoeselt, Belgium
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 250
Tip: Hit the "t" key to switch to the (Element move tool).
When active u can freely drag poly's, edges and points without having to select them.
This one is VERY powerfull. Also dont forget to look at the extra info on the bottom of the screen in the tool tips area.
__________________
Lightwave | Blender |Modo
Stay hungry, stay foolish. (Steve Jobs)
You may say that I'm a dreamer, but I'm not the only one (John Lennon)
 
Old 09-18-2004, 11:41 PM   #7
kursad_pileksuz
çok oturgaçli götürgeç
 
kursad_pileksuz's Avatar
kursad
USA
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 612
edge loop

i think this is one of the best things about modo,

double clicking on an edge will select proper edge loop
 
Old 09-19-2004, 06:05 AM   #8
Headcrash
New Member
I forget
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 22
All the falloff types work with the Weight Tool, so it's possible to use them to get a smooth falloff with subdiv edge creases.
__________________
Destroy!
 
Old 09-19-2004, 06:47 AM   #9
Nando
Bloc Party
 
Nando's Avatar
..
LA, USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 462
Arrow keys

up grows selection

downs shrinks selection

Side keys

Alternate/next loops selections

these work great with the double click selection kursad mentioned.
 
Old 09-19-2004, 12:21 PM   #10
Phil Lawson
Know-it-All
 
Phil Lawson's Avatar
Philip Lawson
Ireland
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 439
Pressing the "/" key gives you one 360 spin of your model.
 
Old 09-19-2004, 09:03 PM   #11
robkoni
Frequenter
 
robkoni's Avatar
3d Artist
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 229

ok ,double click on an edge,as said before selects an Edge loop then use the arrows to select the next loop up or down.....then go to your Perspective view from the dropdown choose refection then give it a spin using Alt right mouse....Whoooaaa...fun...
....well i liked it
__________________
Robin Konieczny,
3d artist,
Asylum3d,
www.asylum3d.co.uk
 
Old 09-20-2004, 02:20 AM   #12
Dion Burgoyne
QA Manager, Luxology LLC
 
Dion Burgoyne's Avatar
QA Manager for Luxology
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 255
The "spikey" tool isn't just for creating spikes, it's also a great way of splitting your polygons directly in the middle.

Along with that, doing a "vertex bevel" is a great way of creating a new circle of geometry surrounding a vertex allowing you to retain the shape of your geometry

The combination of the two will allow you to add a quick hole in a polygon.
__________________
QA Manager
Luxology, LLC
 
Old 09-20-2004, 07:03 PM   #13
sketchguy
Sketchbot Lives!
 
sketchguy's Avatar
portfolio
Steve Talkowski
Animation Director / Character Design
Brooklyn, USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 128
Send a message via AIM to sketchguy Send a message via Yahoo to sketchguy
Thumbs up

If, like me, you are not a fan of trackball rotation (and it's tendency to rotate wildly off axis) you can toggle it off. This, plus using the Maya keymaps makes it much easier to move around.

I never could understand how LW and Alias users put up with breaking their workflow by having to mouse up to the right-hand corner simply to rotate, pan and zoom the camera around!
__________________
Steve Talkowski
Animation Director | Character Designer | Sketchbot Creator

blog twitter sketchbot
 
Old 09-20-2004, 07:56 PM   #14
kursad_pileksuz
çok oturgaçli götürgeç
 
kursad_pileksuz's Avatar
kursad
USA
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 612
pressing pad "0" is going to maximize or minimize any window (3d, layers, tools, etc)
 
Old 09-20-2004, 08:45 PM   #15
kursad_pileksuz
çok oturgaçli götürgeç
 
kursad_pileksuz's Avatar
kursad
USA
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 612
you can drag and drop images from explorer windows to viewports as background images
 
reply share thread



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 10:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.