What's your workflow in Zbrush (be thorough).

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

3 Weeks Ago
What's your workflow in Zbrush (be thorough).

I'm new to zbrush and wanted to learn the workflow of the pros.

Here's mine and pls suggest improvements:

Work on sphere with 4k poly with dynamesh and polish on, gradually increase resolution of dynamesh which increases the no. of polys too (I dont't Divide, I just keep increasing the resolution of dynamesh), when I am ready for the details (wrinkles, pimples etc) I stop increasing the resolution of dynamesh, do the details, UV unwrap, export the displacement map, paint the mesh, export the texture map frop poypaint.

Here's a problem, when maps have been exported and I use Zremesher to low down the no. of polys, it now needs to be UV unwrapped again, so when I UV unwrap again, this UV is now different than the UV on which the earlier exported displacement and texture map are based on. But the whole point of exporting displacement is that we can get those high res details on a low poly mesh, isn't it? But if the UV of low poly mesh is different than UV of displacement map, the map won't work correctly.

I tried copying UV from high poly mesh and pasting to low poly mesh using UV master, but it didn't work.

What's your workflow?

2 Weeks Ago
I don't know if I read your workflow clear. What you are saying is that you dynamesh, do details, then do your UV map. The place you are messing up on is after you Zremesh and your UVs dont match up. If I read this correctly then the hang up on your workflow is doing your UV mapping before you do your Zremesh. When you Zremesh, you have a complete new set of topology and of course it will not match up to your previous UV Mapping.

The way my workflow is, if I am in dynamesh mode, I stay in that mode until I need my bare essentials. Such as, figuring out the silhouette, adding in parts, etc.