Weird result when I press "Project All"

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

Old 05 May 2013   #1
Unhappy Weird result when I press "Project All"

Hi Guys,

I am a beginner and following a tutorial for sculpting. I successfully sculpted the model and exported as .obj to retopolize in Maya. After re-topolizing I imported the model, increased its subdivision level to 2 and applied "Project all" to project the sculpting detail from original model to new re-topolized model but this gives me insane results. Can anybody help?

Before pressing "Project all".

Result after pressing "Project all".

Last edited by narendraK : 05 May 2013 at 05:45 PM.

Old 05 May 2013   #2
I can't see your images so I'm gonna guess based on 2 issues I usually see,

1. normals, check that your normals are facing the correct direction, Maya does a poor job at displaying normals in a useful way by default and this can lead to unexpected problems in Z-Brush if you don't pay attention.

2. If it's not normals, it may be your project distance, try turning that down.

Blizzard Art Contest Entry

JesseIrvin.com

email me at: jesse@jesseirvin.com

Old 05 May 2013   #3
Originally Posted by Jesse-Irvin: I can't see your images so I'm gonna guess based on 2 issues I usually see,

1. normals, check that your normals are facing the correct direction, Maya does a poor job at displaying normals in a useful way by default and this can lead to unexpected problems in Z-Brush if you don't pay attention.

2. If it's not normals, it may be your project distance, try turning that down.

Thanks Jesse, I have updated images so that you can see and advise accordingly. Till the time I will try the solutions you provided. Thanks a lot for your suggestion.

Old 05 May 2013   #4
you need to subdivide it more,
if project all does not work good the first time then you need to select UNDO and retry,