Help needed for Matching Subtools from Scaled Maya import

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

Old 02 February 2013   #1
Help needed for Matching Subtools from Scaled Maya import

Hey everyone.

I'm fairly new to the whole Zbrush world, but i'm loving the program already.

But i'm having a bit of a dilemma.
I created a base mesh in Maya, imported it into Zbrush and began creating details, no problem.
Then I read about scaling an object after displacment maps are created, is bad.
Sooo, I decided to re-import my base mesh into maya, and create "Better" UV's + Rescale it to the proper scale I'm using in my shortfilm.

But now my basemesh is way to big, compared to the previous Zbrush high detailed model I need to transfere the details from.
Is there a smart work around to, rescale the Fine detail model to the new base mesh scale, without having to guess with the Transposer / deformation features?

Should be noted I Rescaled and moved the object to the center in my Maya scene, since it was abit off inside Zbrush when I created it.

I hope it makes sense what I'm trying to do =)

Also, If/after I get the whole model aligned, what would be the best way to transfere the details?
Would it be "Project" tab in the Subtools and have the high details underneath and play with the Project settings?
Or
Subdivide the low mesh to the highmesh's subdivions and import the highmesh into the low so it creates the mesh?
Or is there another smart way? =)

- Ancker

Last edited by Ancker : 02 February 2013 at 03:46 AM. Reason: Title misleading

Old 02 February 2013   #2