CGTalk > Software > Pixologic ZBrush
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-09-2012, 05:31 PM   #1
Leifart
New Member
 
Leifart's Avatar
portfolio
Leif Stalinsky
Germany
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 12
Character workflow problem

Hi everyone,

i have a workflow problem, i have create a character in Zbrush but the polycount is to
high for polypainting in Zbrush. What should i do? decimation master? or Retopo?
or should i work with one polygroup first then the next one ...
This model is only for an image, not for a Game or Animation.
Everytime when i use Decimation master my mesh lags :/


My workflow steps are:

1. create a concept
2. Basemesh in Cinema
3. or i use Dynamesh
4. sculp the model ( after this,Dynamesh off)
5. work with subdiv's(2 sub levels) for a detailed mesh)
6. The model is done and now i have up to 15 mio polycount for example
7. I want to polypaint the model and only render with the BPR for a Photoshop composition.

at this point what should i do? Retopo? or Decimation Master?
With 15 mio -25 mio polygons it's hard to paint on the model :/

Could you write down your workflow steps, for a high resolution model,
from basemesh until polypainting? that would help me a lot!


I have 8gb ramm, i7 920 CPU
Zbrush 4r4

Thanks everyone!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg CG_swamp_Forum.jpg (88.8 KB, 10 views)
 
Old 11-09-2012, 06:53 PM   #2
musashidan
Bar Stool Enthusiast
 
musashidan's Avatar
portfolio
Daniel McGrath
Dublin, Ireland
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 3,814
Just step down a level and polypaint.... or better yet if it's just for illustration break it up into subtools.
 
Old 11-09-2012, 07:02 PM   #3
Leifart
New Member
 
Leifart's Avatar
portfolio
Leif Stalinsky
Germany
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 12
Ok thanks for the answer!
But is it the normal way after sculping to go on the lower levels for polypainting?
 
Old 11-09-2012, 07:08 PM   #4
informerman
Expert
 
informerman's Avatar
portfolio
EZ-Brush
dallas, USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 884
polypainting is for high subd
not so bad if your using just color's but if you paint with a texture instead of colors then stepping down is not as good as high.
personal i would use a large texture map and use projection master which is easy on the PC from slowing down, you can convert that texture to polypaint later on

Last edited by informerman : 11-09-2012 at 07:12 PM.
 
Old 11-09-2012, 11:07 PM   #5
Leifart
New Member
 
Leifart's Avatar
portfolio
Leif Stalinsky
Germany
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 12
Ok cool that's a good method, but in my way i only want to paint directly on the model,
just with the standardbrush plus diffrent alphas, without any textures.

What should i do to decimate the polycount for directly polypaint?retopo?Decimation Master?

Is it important to paint on the highest subd?
Or can i use the method from musashidan, go on a lower subd and paint ?

Thanks for your answer Informerman, i will try it.
 
Old 11-09-2012, 11:13 PM   #6
informerman
Expert
 
informerman's Avatar
portfolio
EZ-Brush
dallas, USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 884
if you try it you will see, alpha does not good on low subd models with polypaint,
just polygroup it then group split it into subtool parts, this way you dont need to decimate it,
this way you can work on higher subd when polypainting,
IF you use a texture map with projection master you dont need high subd

Last edited by informerman : 11-09-2012 at 11:21 PM.
 
Old 11-10-2012, 12:35 AM   #7
musashidan
Bar Stool Enthusiast
 
musashidan's Avatar
portfolio
Daniel McGrath
Dublin, Ireland
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 3,814
Quote:
Originally Posted by informerman
polypainting is for high subd
not so bad if your using just color's but if you paint with a texture instead of colors then stepping down is not as good as high.


OP mentioned your model is 15-25million at highest level so stepping down would still give you more than enough res to polypaint on. Polypaint works by painting texel information so the size of your outputted map is directly related to your polycount. So unless you intend to use an 8k texture it's pointless painting on 15-25 million. This is a very important fact about polypainting that most people either don't know about or don't bother with.

As I mentioned earlier, breaking your model into sub-tools is a really simple way to solve your problem.....(ie: subtool A:head/upper torso - subtool B: lower half)
 
Old 11-10-2012, 01:15 AM   #8
informerman
Expert
 
informerman's Avatar
portfolio
EZ-Brush
dallas, USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 884
depends on how his polygons are distributed,
are they some what equally spaced?
or does he have more polys on the upper part and fewer on the lower part.
or his polygons may be stretched

when you polypaint your painting by vertices.

Last edited by informerman : 11-10-2012 at 01:20 AM.
 
Old 11-10-2012, 01:25 AM   #9
musashidan
Bar Stool Enthusiast
 
musashidan's Avatar
portfolio
Daniel McGrath
Dublin, Ireland
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 3,814
Quote:
Originally Posted by informerman
depends on how his polygons are distributed,
are they some what equally spaced?
or does he have more polys on the upper part and fewer on the lower part.

when you polypaint your painting by vertices, Vertex Painting


Yes, but it's still governed by polycount whether you count by vertices or faces. even though it's vertex painting internally to ZB, we almost always go by face-counts.

I was just saying that no matter what OP does, it will be a lot less taxing on his system if he splits his sub-tool.
 
Old 11-10-2012, 01:39 AM   #10
informerman
Expert
 
informerman's Avatar
portfolio
EZ-Brush
dallas, USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 884
if he has stretched polygons the painted on alpha or texture is not going to look as good with polypaint,
http://i.imgur.com/LuvQE.jpg

need a lowest subd wire frame screen shot .
projection master or split into groups will work

Last edited by informerman : 11-10-2012 at 01:56 AM.
 
Old 11-10-2012, 02:06 AM   #11
musashidan
Bar Stool Enthusiast
 
musashidan's Avatar
portfolio
Daniel McGrath
Dublin, Ireland
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 3,814
Quote:
Originally Posted by informerman
if he has stretched polygons the painted on alpha or texture is not going to look as good with polypaint,

need a lowest subd wire frame screen shot .
projection master or split into groups will work


Agreed on both counts. If this is the case, a simple smoth brush/reproject higher sub-divs might do the trick.
 
Old 11-10-2012, 12:19 PM   #12
Leifart
New Member
 
Leifart's Avatar
portfolio
Leif Stalinsky
Germany
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 12
Thanks for your answers,

i will try both methods, i have two subd's

1.Subdiv = 3,5 mio
2.Subdiv = 13 mio

i will tell you soon, how it works.
 
Old 11-10-2012, 01:20 PM   #13
Leifart
New Member
 
Leifart's Avatar
portfolio
Leif Stalinsky
Germany
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 12
So, both works but after rendering the model
i see a bad cut between the subtool :/
how can i fix it?


You can see this in the attach files.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Test.jpg (86.2 KB, 9 views)
 
Old 11-10-2012, 03:42 PM   #14
informerman
Expert
 
informerman's Avatar
portfolio
EZ-Brush
dallas, USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 884
tool>geometry >crease Border

do this before moving the subd slider back and forth
and make sure all subtools are on the same subd level
 
Old 11-10-2012, 04:28 PM   #15
Leifart
New Member
 
Leifart's Avatar
portfolio
Leif Stalinsky
Germany
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 12
Ok guys, it works pretty well, thank your for the fast answers

Zbrush crashes sometimes when i want to split groups ( on the lowest subd)
(mem error <-- dont know why)
but it works
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 08:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.