The Pale Voice, Linda Bergkvist (2D)

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

Old 04 April 2005   #1
The Pale Voice, Linda Bergkvist (2D)

Title: The Pale Voice
Name: Linda Bergkvist
Software: Photoshop

Iíve been fretting about posting this one here or not. Iíve received some critiques on posting only character work, and since this is yet another character portraitÖ Iíve put it off. However, now I have my Master and Servant entry for anyone wanting to see a little more than that, so Iím going to dare.
Anyway, this is a painting for a board game one of my best friends is designing Ė itís just a pastime thing so far, but I think itíll be neat. Itís based on the fantasy world Iíve had in mind for a good long while (Furiae) and this is one of the characters.
Anyway, hereís some background on the character Ė
It is a tradition that Gira, the first God of humanity, always takes a boy child as avatar... to be replaced when the boy reaches maturity.
Another God's avatar remarked once snidely that "Gira chooses children because only a child or a dimwit would believe his lies".
This is Samhan, now fifteen and according to whispers, soon to be removed from his exalted state as immortal. Taken from his family when he was ten years old, rumours speak of his tongue having been ripped out by the God when he screamed an insult in Gira's face.
Others claim that Samhan's voice is so lovely that Gira refuses anyone else the pleasure of its melody.

Above all, the painting is an exercise in painting fabrics. I took a clothes hanger and a chair, and I piled and folded and draped different fabrics over it, to get the look right. I spentÖ way, way too long, just detailing away at the fabric folds when, I know, I should have spent my time doing more meaningful things (like, brushing my hair, or taking the cat for a walk, ha ha)

D'artiste

Painting eyes
Painting hair

Old 04 April 2005   #2