Eastern Riders, Kelsey Winterkorn (2D)

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

10 October 2004
Eastern Riders, Kelsey Winterkorn (2D)

Title: Eastern Riders
Name: Kelsey Winterkorn
Software: Photoshop

9 hours in Photoshop. I am new to digital art, and this is my second piece entirely in PS.

I tried for an ancient/historical painting look, very stylized and iconic? I tried to go for medieval Turkish/Ottoman armour, garb, and things. I tried to make the king/sultan in front have a 'holy' glow, as well as stand out more than his entourage.

All comments are welcome!

For a higher resolution click on the thumbnail:

10 October 2004
Man, at first i want to say, that you are wrong: the style in drawing, the shapes , the armour, red raincoat and so on - everything you have taken from russian miniatures on eat plates or on souvenirs. Did you ever seen turkish works? Suppose not, because they style is absolutly diffrent.
"Where are you from?" - "I'm from Argentina!" - "Oh! Argentina - beautiful country! I love kangaroo!!!" This work and your description reminds me this anecdote

10 October 2004
It's a lovely painting shows good skill-.brilliant colors remind me of a the stained glass in Englands cathedrals.
As for the type of armour, dress etc..
shserge: here's a link on dress that is a very long read and has a lot of historical facts if you dare to read all the side bar links.
http://www.oldandsold.com/articles09/clothes-17.shtml

...and if you distill the information what you see is what missing in the descriptions is that fact all during the pre-mid-latter middle ages there where a lot of wars going on everywhere!..and during wars what happens is that people loot...look what i brought home from the war honey!
wars's caused muticultural cross pollination of math,science, medicine and