The Warrior's Last Stand, Michelle Chuang (2D)

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

Old 09 September 2004   #1
The Warrior's Last Stand, Michelle Chuang (2D)

Title: The Warrior's Last Stand
Name: Michelle Chuang
Software: Photoshop

This is a fan art for my player character in Square-Enix's online RPG Final Fantasy XI (and hopefully eveyone undertsand that I therefore did NOT design the character and the outfits. The conceptual part of credit goes to Square-Enix).
It's called a Tarutaru, a race which basically looks like miniature Elf. The class I made her to be was a warrior, and she mainly uses an axe to chop down these huge orcs and nasty goblins.
I have been playing the game for a few months. Really love its graphics and how my game character looks, but decided I should now stop investing more time in it so I can work harder on something else. This therefore serves some sort of memorial purpose, as a way to say goodbye to my character and the game.
Doodled on notepad and then painted in photoshop almost from the scratch. I took some in-game screenshots as reference so that I could quite faithfully represent the outfit that my character was actually wearing. Nevertheless no part of this picture was made by painting-over any graphical material from the game. If you want to see how the actual in-game graphics would be like I recommend visiting Square-Enix's playonline.com website.
http://www.playonline.com/ff11us/index.shtml
It's not my best effort, but hopefully someone here who also plays the game will still enjoy this picture :)

Old 09 September 2004   #2
She looks a bit too relaxed for a last stand, but I like it very much.
Maybe you should call your piece: warrior striking a pose
Great job!

Old 09 September 2004   #3