3landscapes-blue, Michael Williamson (3D)

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

01 January 2010
3landscapes-blue, Michael Williamson (3D)

Title: 3landscapes-blue
Name: Michael Williamson
Software: Blender

Done as spec work for a videogames company

I've been using blender for pretty much everything for about three years now, but haven't done any "render" work for ages. This was rendered as several passes for an animation and composited together using blender's internal node compositor....

the landscape materials were blended together marked by a vertex colour map, each different vertex colour sets the intensity of four different materials. This was the first time I'd used the blender "hair " particles for grass...

www.cowtoolsmedia.co.uk

01 January 2010
There are two more images that formed parts of this project:

3landscapes: red

and finally a jungle shot
3landscapes: green

All three shots were done with open source software: blender for modelling animation, rendering and compositing... Gimp for texturing and for the last shot ivy generator and ngplant were used as well as the dracena and the palm tree being stock models from BLENDER GREENHOUSE....##

all three done in two weeks including a 60 second animtion of the first...

www.cowtoolsmedia.co.uk

01 January 2010
I really like your rendering, composition, and color palettes on all three! Very nice and extensive work here. The grass looks great too.

In the first one, I find the trees to be a bit flat and very obviously "CG". I think translucence and reflectivity could be adjusted for a more realistic look, especially as the leaf clusters get dense and the lighting should also show this... They seem to lack internal shadows in this one.

But overall awesome work, and thanks for sharing! I love seeing huge projects like this come to life...

"Like stone we battle the wind... Beat down and strangle the rains..."