Precursors short (former Ancestors)

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

Old 05 May 2013   #1
Precursors short (former Ancestors)

PreVis of my diploma CG short. No sound, music just to make it not so boring to watch.

Feel free to throw rocks, point out even obvious mistakes, and suggest how to correct them. Anything related to edit, direction, animation, cameras.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K6-l_aPuXRs

Old 05 May 2013   #2
Hi

I really like your short so far. I'm no animation expert so take my crit for what it's worth please. The one thing that really stood out for me as far as something fixable, is where your main character breaks the first trooper's neck: There appears to be no resistance from his spine/neck to prohibit the movement. Co-incidently I watched the original Total Recall movie with Schwarzenegger just before I saw your clip. In that movie, just after he returns from "Recall", he gets into a fight with 5 or 6 guys, during which he does this move exactly as I would imagine it should look.

The only other things that stood out were little clean-up jobs really, which I would imagine you've already identified as points of interest like jittery shoulders in some spots.

Old 05 May 2013   #3
Thanksa for your reply!

Yeah, jitter it mostly from an uncleaned kinect mocap, which I used in some shots, ill clean it

Old 05 May 2013   #4
Congrats on getting so much done.

A few things that might help:

* Everything is low res which makes it easier to judge form and movement. The soldiers look balloony (sort of sausage like).

* The sets are not very interesting in terms of design and form. In fact the overall design of everything could use a bit of a boost in quality. That is why it is great you did this previz!