reply share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Old 11-06-2012, 11:36 PM   #1
Sputnik1

portfolio
Boris Fomin
Sydney, Australia

Human Anatomy and Topology

Welcome to my new thread.
I've decided to concentrate on human modeling. I'm not very good at it yet but with your help and my commitment I'm hoping to get better.

I'm working in Maya/ZBrush and right now trying to figure out the best topology for human face.
I'm looking for the easiest and fastest way to model the head.
In my opinion the problem areas I'm facing right now is the nose, mouth and zygomaticus area (cheek).
Any critiques are welcome.

Please see attached images.
Thank you.

Old 11-10-2012, 03:11 AM   #2
Sputnik1

portfolio
Boris Fomin
Sydney, Australia

Here is my new model. Trying to work in zBrush right now to bring more details to the face.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg head13.jpg (35.9 KB, 30 views)

Old 11-10-2012, 05:32 AM   #3
Sputnik1

portfolio
Boris Fomin
Sydney, Australia

Testing lighting and skin shader.
However I've got to get back to Zbrush and fix areas around the eyes and do more wrinkles and pores.

Old 11-15-2012, 03:15 AM   #4
Sputnik1

portfolio
Boris Fomin
Sydney, Australia

Trying to get back to basics and learn to draw the head to better understand the shape of it.

Old 11-18-2012, 09:40 AM   #5
jister
Frequenter

portfolio
Jethro Volders
Hasselt, Belgium

the head look a bit shapeless, a bit inflated. anyway the proportions aren't correct for example the eye should be in the middle of your head. look at some refs like this one

also it's always good to sculpt a skull and then add muscles and build you way up from there.

Old 11-18-2012, 11:14 AM   #6
Sputnik1

portfolio
Boris Fomin
Sydney, Australia

Thanx jister,
You are right. I need to be more careful with proportions of the face. I was thinking to model a skull first as well and might do it but later.
Here is a quick fix.

Old 11-18-2012, 03:10 PM   #7
jister
Frequenter

portfolio
Jethro Volders
Hasselt, Belgium