CGTalk > Software > Lightwave 3D > LW Tutorials
Login register
reply share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-23-2002, 07:08 AM   #61
SplineGod
Have LW, will travel.....
 
SplineGod's Avatar
3D Modeler/Animator
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 4,890
Send a message via ICQ to SplineGod Send a message via AIM to SplineGod
Thats why I dont like setting automatic constraints on characters because its very limiting. Adding additional controls to override them takes more time. Its easier IMO to just put the foot where you want it and rely on IK and the graph editor to keep them where you want them.
 
Old 11-23-2002, 07:08 PM   #62
Julez4001
Expert
 
Julez4001's Avatar
portfolio
Julian Herring
3D Generalist/ VFX Artist
Norfolk Southern
Atlanta, USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 3,486
Send a message via AIM to Julez4001
The bone are placed at 0,0
The simple constraint attach the foot to the IK null.
If it moves pass the 0, it will.
I just like doing squats with IK. and I just like to know where to put the floor at.

When i do it in messiah. I use FK to IK slider (real simple to setup) to shut off expressions that limit me. I don't use expressions that much in lw as once I get pass five expression I start getting loss on what is effecting what.


Lw needs a separate expression panel and/or flowchart.
__________________
Animator
Maya | Lightwave | Messiah
www.flarenova.com
 
Old 11-24-2002, 12:50 AM   #63
SplineGod
Have LW, will travel.....
 
SplineGod's Avatar
3D Modeler/Animator
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 4,890
Send a message via ICQ to SplineGod Send a message via AIM to SplineGod
The IK FK slider thing was cool in messiah but there are similar things you can do to blend between an expression and FK in Lightwave. I have found that as time goes on and I do more and more rigs that I want to spend less time rigging and more time animating. For me I can see the floor by putting in a ground object or standin objects. I will go thru and block or rough out my animation and dont care too much if the feet dip thru the floor at that point in time. If the floor or ground change drastically its a pain for me to constantly override my expression to keep the feet at floor or ground level. If I have a large section where the ground is the same level Ill simply grab the Y values for the feet IK goals and set them to the same value. For me thats a lot faster and more flexible then setting up expressions. I find that for me, avoiding too many expression based controls or automated functions is better...it drops my setup time and allows me to get to the actual animating part.
I also had the same problem in Messiah: Keeping track of which expressions were controlling what, what order to place them in because sometimes I would throw in an expression that would break something else. I would have drag and drop it up and down the list until it worked or redo it. I also had problems sometimes determining if I needed to use an expression before, during or after IK. Some expressions in Messiah are pretty straightforward but many were not. Some things IMO sound great in theory because in our imaginations everything works. In practice they can become a huge pain. Also when rigging there is a difference between rigging for me and rigging for someone else. I REALLY try and keep is simple when rigging for others.

Last edited by SplineGod : 11-24-2002 at 12:54 AM.
 
Old 11-24-2002, 07:52 AM   #64
Kaiser_Sose
Space For Rent
 
Kaiser_Sose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 1,224
Quote:
Originally posted by SplineGod
I REALLY try and keep is simple when rigging for others.


You make everything sound so simple
 
Old 11-24-2002, 09:42 AM   #65
SplineGod
Have LW, will travel.....
 
SplineGod's Avatar
3D Modeler/Animator
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 4,890
Send a message via ICQ to SplineGod Send a message via AIM to SplineGod
It is simple if you look at rigging the right way. Its not about IK, expressions or slick setups. Its about: What does the rig have to be able to do? Usually its a few things:
1. The Rig should be very poseable but not break between poses.
2. When a rig is put into a pose , moving some other part of the rig should not break the pose in another part of the rig.

These two rules can be broken down a bit more but thats it really in a nut shell.
 
Old 11-27-2002, 11:01 AM   #66
lildragon
Enter the Forum Leader
 
lildragon's Avatar
CGSociety Member
portfolio
Tito Belgrave
Character Artist - Freelance
Toronto, Canada
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 4,577
Send a message via Yahoo to lildragon

Very interesting, nice thread

salud
 
Old 11-27-2002, 12:05 PM   #67
Meshbuilder
Pär Mostad
 
Meshbuilder's Avatar
portfolio
Pär Mostad
3D Artist
Outpost FX
Gävle, Sweden
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 246
Send a message via ICQ to Meshbuilder
Hi.. I made a litle walk animation with the bolo character from Lukasz Pazeras´s Auto Character Setup 3..
Just for fun..
I used his rigg but changed the arm to FK..
Set driven key was used for his left arm so I only needed to animate the right one..
Hope you like it..

The clip is 1.1 MB and you need QT6 to see it..

http://www.vinyamar.com/~darkeden/m...anima/bolo1.mov
 
Old 11-27-2002, 02:33 PM   #68
Kaiser_Sose
Space For Rent
 
Kaiser_Sose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 1,224
Quote:
Originally posted by Meshbuilder
Hi.. I made a litle walk animation with the bolo character from Lukasz Pazeras´s Auto Character Setup 3..
Just for fun..
I used his rigg but changed the arm to FK..
Set driven key was used for his left arm so I only needed to animate the right one..
Hope you like it..

The clip is 1.1 MB and you need QT6 to see it..

http://www.vinyamar.com/~darkeden/m...anima/bolo1.mov


Looks good

Stupid question but how do you use pre made rigs on other characters
 
Old 11-27-2002, 04:09 PM   #69
Meshbuilder
Pär Mostad
 
Meshbuilder's Avatar
portfolio
Pär Mostad
3D Artist
Outpost FX
Gävle, Sweden
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 246
Send a message via ICQ to Meshbuilder
"Stupid question but how do you use pre made rigs on other characters"

Hmm I don't know really... I think it's pretty hard to reuse your riggs in Lightwave.. And in other programs I worked with too..
With Pazeras's auto character script you can do that.. But I don't like his IK setup for the arms..

I think it would be cool if Newtek did something about this in the next vesion of Lightwave.. Now it's real easy to remodel you skelegons in modeler but it's mutch more difficult to change your bones in Layout after you have setup IK, expression and all that..
 
Old 11-27-2002, 05:55 PM   #70
KOryH
digijockey
 
KOryH's Avatar
portfolio
Kory Heinzen
Visual Development Artist
KHI
Redwood City, USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 1,213
Send a message via AIM to KOryH Send a message via MSN to KOryH

With his script it's pretty easy.
you can modify the skeleton in modeler to fit your own character then run the sript in layout. just swap his mesh for yours.
it's as easy as Thanksgiving Pumkin pie!

He has some tips for this on his website by the way.
__________________
Kory Heinzen
VisDev Artist
My Blog
SECRET AGENT
B-Movie
 
Old 11-27-2002, 07:19 PM   #71
SplineGod
Have LW, will travel.....
 
SplineGod's Avatar
3D Modeler/Animator
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 4,890
Send a message via ICQ to SplineGod Send a message via AIM to SplineGod
Animation really happens in two parts:
Getting the physics correct - weight, balance etc
Getting the Art correct - personality, appeal etc.
Making a walk cycle and using expressions/motion modifiers to automate parts of it MAY help get the physics part done but wont make it look good artistically. Thats why few animators like rigs that autocenter themselves and so on.
You an easily reuse bones from one character to another in lightwave even if those bones have motion and IK on them. Lots of people say you cant but its simply not true. There are ways to do it without using that auto character setup script. There are many different ways to rig.
I also think that using IK on the upper body of a character is a bad idea unless the characters hands need to stick to something.

Last edited by SplineGod : 11-27-2002 at 07:22 PM.
 
Old 11-27-2002, 10:00 PM   #72
KOryH
digijockey
 
KOryH's Avatar
portfolio
Kory Heinzen
Visual Development Artist
KHI
Redwood City, USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 1,213
Send a message via AIM to KOryH Send a message via MSN to KOryH

Yes, there are many ways to do it with out the script. You have mentioned a couple of good ways further back in this tread.
But what if you are lazy? or really have no desire what so ever to get good at rigging, but want to be a good animator. or do you have to be a good modeler and rigger before you can graduate to animation?
__________________
Kory Heinzen
VisDev Artist
My Blog
SECRET AGENT
B-Movie
 
Old 11-27-2002, 10:51 PM   #73
SplineGod
Have LW, will travel.....
 
SplineGod's Avatar
3D Modeler/Animator
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 4,890
Send a message via ICQ to SplineGod Send a message via AIM to SplineGod
Quote:
Originally posted by KOryH
Yes, there are many ways to do it with out the script. You have mentioned a couple of good ways further back in this tread.
But what if you are lazy? or really have no desire what so ever to get good at rigging, but want to be a good animator. or do you have to be a good modeler and rigger before you can graduate to animation?

Good point. Lots of studios work that way. You have animators who cant rig or model and vice versa. I thinking knowing how to model and rig can help you become more well rounded and may help but not necessarily. If you dont rig but want to learn animation then I would suggest hooking up with someone who can rig well or buying a good rig somewhere to play with. If you are trying to learn to rig PROPERLY I would suggest finding someone who can animate to test your rigs on. ANY package is a good animation package if you have a good rig to start with.
 
Old 11-28-2002, 12:25 AM   #74
Meshbuilder
Pär Mostad
 
Meshbuilder's Avatar
portfolio
Pär Mostad
3D Artist
Outpost FX
Gävle, Sweden
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 246
Send a message via ICQ to Meshbuilder
SplineGod >"You an easily reuse bones from one character to another in lightwave even if those bones have motion and IK on them. Lots of people say you cant but its simply not true. There are ways to do it without using that auto character setup script."

Ok say that we have one little dwarf running.. Then we want to take his bones/animation and use it on another character, say a big orc..
How do I do that "easily"???
 
Old 11-28-2002, 06:10 PM   #75
abercrombiestud
Veteran
 
abercrombiestud's Avatar
Student/Enterprise
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 30
Send a message via AIM to abercrombiestud Send a message via Yahoo to abercrombiestud
wow!!! that stuff is awsome only if i knew how to do that but i yet dont. that is really cool
 
reply share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 05:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.