CGTalk > Software > Compositing Software > Adobe After Effects
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-12-2013, 09:51 AM   #1
JayCox
Veteran
portfolio
Julian Cox
Hamburg, Germany
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 42
Why are you doing this, zdepth?

Hey guys,

I have a question

I am working on a architectural visualisation at the moment and have some issue with my zdepth. I want to pull focus from a stone in the garden to the main building in the back of the image. So far so good.
Therefore I rendered the image (Attached), a zDepth-Pass and put them in After Effects.
I am trying around with different plugins and have therefore still got the water mark on the frischluft lenscare thingy.

Anyway, as you can see in the attached output files... this is definatly wrong... Could please someone tell me what in hell is going on?

I exported the zpass with "Vray for Cinema4D".

I suspect that the main problem is the very rough edge between the front leaf and the distant house, where the zpass goes from black to white within 3 pixels... put this just cannot be the reason for it not working...

Help please!
Thanks alot,
Greetz,
JayCox
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Zpass_Screenshot.JPG (81.0 KB, 12 views)
File Type: jpg Rendered_Image_Screenshot.JPG (90.2 KB, 11 views)
File Type: jpg Applied_Frischluft_Screenshot.JPG (91.3 KB, 16 views)

Last edited by JayCox : 02-12-2013 at 09:56 AM.
 
Old 02-12-2013, 09:53 AM   #2
JayCox
Veteran
portfolio
Julian Cox
Hamburg, Germany
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 42
P.S. Since I can only upload three pics per post here is a last one with After FX Camera Lens Blur applied.

Greetz and thanks,
JayCox
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Applied_CameraLensblur_Screenshot.JPG (77.8 KB, 14 views)
 
Old 02-12-2013, 01:45 PM   #3
theotheo
Know-it-All
 
theotheo's Avatar
portfolio
Theodor Groeneboom
Framestore CFC
London, United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 368
Send a message via MSN to theotheo
Its the limitation of using single depth images. I suggest you render your foreground and background separately and combine them in after effects with dof on each layer.
__________________
http://www.euqahuba.com
 
Old 02-12-2013, 01:52 PM   #4
Laserschwert
Expert
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 497
Your Z-depth pass is anti-aliased... for post-DOF it must NOT be anti-aliased.
 
Old 02-12-2013, 01:52 PM   #5
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,481
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 09:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.