View Full Version : Noisy Shadows


elideBLOG
03 March 2011, 09:38 AM
He,

I try to render this (http://www.iamelide.de/pictures/screenshot.jpg) since hours and all I get is this noisy shadow. If I increase the light radius, the whole render is noisy - not only the shadow.

Her (http://www.iamelide.de/pictures/screenshot_2.jpg) you can see my render quality settings.

Hope someone has an idea what's wrong. ;)

Thanks!
elide

gcr113
03 March 2011, 12:59 AM
You're using it as an area light, check that option off and you'll most likely get sharp raytraced shadows. Otherwise, increase the number of Shadow Rays on your light.

CHRiTTeR
03 March 2011, 08:48 AM
yup, needs more samples

elideBLOG
03 March 2011, 08:54 AM
Thanks! I already solved the problem. It was a combination of both:

more light rays + increasing high and low samples. ;)

CGTalk Moderation
03 March 2011, 08:54 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.


1