XM Magdalena 3D print, GGeorgy (3D)
LC #42 Pipers Alley

View Full Version : Keyboard mapping

01-22-2011, 04:26 PM
Now, I know you can remap the keyboard from window>settings/preferences>hotkey editor, but I wanted to change "shift" selection from toggle to simply select (controll unselect, shift select) and I haven't managed to do this. Anyone know how to do this?

01-22-2011, 08:57 PM
long story short: you can't. Maya's selection keymods are stupenduously idiotic but you just have to get used to them and live with it unfortunately.

The only way to do it would be external to Maya (remapping your actual keyboard layout/function under your OS)


01-23-2011, 06:30 PM
Ok, thanks for clearing that out,now I won't spend time trying to look for a solution

02-17-2011, 12:53 PM
Hey VilleN!
Do you know Autohotkey (http://autohotkey.com)? You can almost bend everything with it.
But I think I don't understand correctly. You want shift+click to do the same as simple click?

I don't get it.. :D

02-17-2011, 10:49 PM
It seems like he more wants shift select to be like what is the usual control + shift select?

02-18-2011, 12:57 AM
so select -add that is?

CGTalk Moderation
02-18-2011, 12:57 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.