View Full Version : Approximate Nearest Neighbor Searching

10 October 2010, 12:25 PM
Hello Friends,
I want to know how to compile this STANN ( source code for maya 64 bit using Microsoft visual c++ 2010 Express.I have zero experience on how to compile any source code & make plugin for maya,So please give me brief info on this.
And also i want to know,how can i find the nearest neighbor particle of every particle using this material.want compare the distance of every particle and find the minimum value.Thank you
With Regards
Ruchit Bhatt

10 October 2010, 07:12 AM
I started to learn How to compile basic code ("Hello World" plugin) From Complete Maya Programming book.And i stuck @ start of basic step..Here is step MS visual c++ File|New
3.In the New dialog box,click on the Project tab. on the Maya Plug-in Wizard from the list of possible project types..

Now how can i do this(step 4)..bcz when i create New Project,a screen which pop-up is as below
Help me,Thank you

10 October 2010, 02:24 PM
Ok i copied this files
MayaPluginWizard.vsdir,MayaPluginWizard.vsz & MayaPluginWizard.ico
in C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio 10.0\VC\vcprojects
& also copied MayaPluginWizard folder in C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio 10.0\VC\VCWizards

So,After this now Now i can see MayaPluginWizard option in new project Templates selection box.See this screen

But Now problem is ..when i click to OK.I m getting error message like "Creating Project 'Hello World'...Project Creation failed".So what to do now ? to solve this.Reply ASAP
Thank you.

I m using microsoft visual c++ 2010 express .so in MayaPluginWizard.vsz filei made some changes like thisway
But still it's not working.......................

10 October 2010, 02:42 AM
I have bumped into this problem too on win7 before. the error was same. I had never got it on xp64. maybe you can get rid of it by compiling on xp.

10 October 2010, 03:52 AM