View Full Version : Masking Q


jsells20
06 June 2010, 04:19 PM
I am trying to figure out how to integrate the mask element for the stairs. As you can see the third ball is under the stair and I have the mask ready but unsure where to plug it in. I have provided the script and image for reference.

Thanks everyone.

ChristopherP
06 June 2010, 04:43 PM
if you add another Copy-node (after that over below Copy2) to copy the red from the mask into the alpha and a Premult after that...that should do the trick.

hope that's what you meant :)


cheers
c.

jsells20
06 June 2010, 04:55 PM
Would you mind seeing what I did wrong. Attached is a screen cap.

ChristopherP
06 June 2010, 05:02 PM
switch the inputs on Copy1 :)
what exactly are doing with Copy2? just curious...


c.

jsells20
06 June 2010, 05:06 PM
Here's a grab for copy2.

jsells20
06 June 2010, 05:22 PM
Fixed it. Thanks.

jsells20
07 July 2010, 10:03 PM
I am now trying to find out how to use the edge blur on intersecting masks. I tried to split up the mask in red and green channel, but its still sharp at the intersection. Now if it's 1 mask element with shuffled red and green it sort of works but as you can see in the second image it's picking up the background when blurred.

Please help someone.
--J

jsells20
07 July 2010, 07:14 PM
---------FIX

Anyone interested. The fix was to change the plus to "mask" after the shuffle. Next change the edge mult setting in edge blur to 10.

CGTalk Moderation
07 July 2010, 07:14 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.


1