Lost Adventurer, Aleks Kirilenko (3D)
LC #42 Pipers Alley

View Full Version : subdivide an area

04-05-2010, 09:56 PM
how do you subdivide just the area that you want to have lots of detail? a mask I'm guessing with some thing else?

04-06-2010, 09:15 AM
Mask off the area you don't want subdivided, go to the lowest subdiv level and press Divide in the Tools/Geometry palette. This can lead to unsightly triangles so better would be to retopologise your mesh to manage the density and flow of polygons.


04-07-2010, 07:45 PM
thanks for that Im brand new to zbrush so could you explain what you meant by:

"retopologise your mesh to manage the density and flow of polygons"
is this something you can do within Zbrush?

as i did see triangles that looked unsightly!


CGTalk Moderation
04-07-2010, 07:45 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.