View Full Version : memory issues

Barracca
02 February 2010, 10:59 PM
Hey chaps.

Im having a little trouble and hope that someone could please advise. Im fairly new to mudbox and a complete novice with computers.
My problem is that my main computer went "bang" the other day and has been sent off to get fixed.
Now i didnt have any issues on my other computer, but i had alot more ram than the one im stuck with, But i seem to be running out of memory rather fast. It seems to reach the limit and then crash without dumping it somewhere like the hard drive to free up memory.
I did some searching on the net to find out that there is or was an option to move information from memory to a hard drive in Mudbox but i cant seem to find it, and ive done quite a bit of searching.
Is there a setting in 2010 that makes this automatic or something? and if so how do i change its limits? if thats what it needs.

Thanks in advance

Barracca

Barracca
02 February 2010, 11:15 PM
unfortunatly its only got 2 gig on this one. its only 32 bit opperating system too and the motherboard will only support 1 more gig on a 32 bit system. (took me ages to find that out hehe)

musashidan
02 February 2010, 11:15 PM
What ram have you got on you current GPU?

musashidan
02 February 2010, 11:33 PM
unfortunatly its only got 2 gig on this one. its only 32 bit opperating system too and the motherboard will only support 1 more gig on a 32 bit system. (took me ages to find that out hehe)

That won't cut it. :D By GPU i meant the ram on your graphics card. Mud uses the GPU extensively and a decent card with at least 512meg(preferably a gig) of ram is recommened. Autodesk list the system specs to run Mud optimally on their site.

Barracca
02 February 2010, 11:43 PM